Doodle Weaves

I have been back home from helping out with the twins for 5 days now – and I am so surprised how long it is taking me to recover my energy. It is the sort of tiredness that sleep alone does not mend.

What I seem to need is long hours of mindless nurturing repetitive ‘colouring in’!

Intrigued by Daisy Yellow’s Weaves

I started one of my own – initially it felt too formalised and difficult to keep the weaves going – and of course I found I could not stick to black and white and had to add some colour:

weaves

to be more free I then did wavy lines, but did them initially in pencil and used a rubber to create the over and under cross-overs – and as a reaction to the one before – no black in sight:

colour weaveand then I wondered what it would be like to have a theme – i chose flowers:

flower weave

I like this weave the best. The three weaves were done over 3 evenings in front of the TV, and a little at odd moments in the day.

Now, I have gone past needing to do these weaves as a restorative mindless exercise and feel a teeny bit obsessed with trying out more with different themes – any ideas?!

For more inspiration for different sorts of doodles visit iHanna and She Who Doodles and Balzer Designs.

Then Google Zentangle! Wow! hours of fun spent in the realms of altered consciousness ……

Have a mooch round some other doodles of mine (and here) . Or just click on Doodles in the Category list to the right of the page.

3 responses to “Doodle Weaves

  1. Pingback: Creativity and Knitted Pigs | stonechat

  2. Thank you Tammy! And thank you for setting me off on a whole new journey of discovery, it feels very playful to fill tiny spaces with repetitive patterns. Thanks for dropping by.

    Like

  3. I see you’ve learned that drawing weaves is an addictive process! The little patterns inside are fabulous.

    Like

I love your comments - they make my day!

