Frame?

This is how I spent Christmas Day 2012:

Although I have a large family and 8 gorgeous grandchildren, I choose to spend every other Christmas Day alone: one year with the family, and the next either on my own or off on a tinsel free adventure – i love it!

I have been inspired by Attic24‘s ‘Little Balls’, which have taken over from Doodling as my new obsession. I just HAD to make them.

I’d be interested to hear if you get creative obsessions which will just not leave you alone until they have run their course.

I love the colours Lucy uses. Her whole blog beams out vibrant colour – there is a link in ‘Blogs I Follow’ on the left of the page.

I had no idea how I was going to use all these balls until an idea struck;

Four years ago I was lucky enough to be able to buy a Carolyne Kardia painting called Summer Flight:

summerflight

It hangs in my sitting room (80 cm square) – when I first saw it, it looked to me like fairies dancing and I enjoy the way it seems to reflect the weather: when it is sunny, or windy, or wet. Other people see all sorts of creatures in it and the babies are fascinated by it from about 3 months onwards.

The edges are raw

edge

which does not bother me, but…

I had these little balls… so i knitted an icord.

icord and balls

My first thought was to completely surround the picture with balls and pompoms, but then I tried this out:

innernaffness

I still can’t decide if this is REALLY naff! and/or a sacrilege, but I do know I like it! so I am going to embrace my inner Naffness and enjoy!

framed

The next step is to make some cushions in the same colourway, to sit on the sofa beneath, granny squares I think.

(and click here and you will see where the adventure took me)

(and here – a post 24th April, 2014 the journey continues)

and onwards …  2.May.14

8 responses to “Frame?

  1. Pingback: New Year, New Pattern | Wild Daffodil

  2. Pingback: Crochet cross country | stonechat

  3. Pingback: Ripple, Ripple, Ripple | stonechat

  4. Pingback: Summer Flight Throw | stonechat

  5. Pingback: Fun with Felt | stonechat

  6. Pingback: Excited! | stonechat

  7. Pingback: Crocheted Cushions | stonechat

  8. Pingback: Happy New Year! | stonechat

I love your comments - they make my day!

