An English Country Garden

I had the most delicious day yesterday. A morning in my project room and an afternoon taking myself on an Artist’s Date as suggested by Julia Cameron in her book ‘The Artist’s Way’.

There is a garden, at Knitson Farmhouse, near Corfe Castle open through the National Garden Scheme, this weekend, so off I went armed with camera, doodling book and the latest knitting project.

Once off the main road there was a mile of single track road taking me up into the gorse covered hills above Swanage – I do live in a beautiful part of the world! And I love exploring bits of it I have never been to before.

The garden has been gardened for 50 years by Rachel, who took it over from her father who was, I suspect, as passionate about organic gardening and Permaculture as she is.

cream tea

Home-made scones and loganberry jam with clotted cream

 

DSCF1305 DSCF1313 knit doodle DSCF1314 DSCF1344

Plants for sale. I bought a pumpkin plant for Rufus (3) because he has been desperate to sow some seeds since last October when we took them out of the pumpkin lantern, we sowed them a few days ago and half an hour later he was disappointed that they had not come up – he kinda thought he’d be eating one for his tea!DSCF1341 DSCF1310 DSCF1311 DSCF1315 DSCF1323 DSCF1326

A little metal teapot left in tree with moss in it, just the sort of spot a robin might choose.DSCF1319 DSCF1318 DSCF1322 DSCF1338 DSCF1316

 

DSCF1321

Plastic milk containers protecting lettuce plantsDSCF1337

The view as I ate my cream tea
DSCF1324 DSCF1325

Another view from the seat.

DSCF1333 DSCF1327 DSCF1317There were visitors there who said they came each year, and I could see why – it is a delight – I will definitely return to see the garden in a different season.

2 responses to “An English Country Garden

  1. Lovely to have you along, walking through the Dorset landscape with me!

    Like

  2. Teapots in the trees and beauty everywhere … another lovely walk ❤

    Liked by 1 person

I love your comments - they make my day!

