Sissinghurst

…….After Derek Jarman’s garden, and the walk from Prospect Cottage to the sea, we grabbed some lunch and tootled off to Sissinghurst Castle, the home of one of my all-time heroines, Vita Sackville-West.

The place was heaving and it was very difficult to get any photos without masses of people in them. I include a few, but best to click on the link above to see better ones.

DSCF2953 DSCF2957

the famous white garden was a delight, and probably needs to be seen in all four seasons to really appreciate it. Everywhere we go it is the roses that are in their full glory – the scent is sweet and heady, enhanced by the fabulous hot weather we are enjoying.DSCF2958

Is this Miss Wilmot’s Ghost, I wonder?

My mother-in-law loved her garden and when I got married (aged 19) she was keen to pass on her knowledge and enthusiasm, she would take me round the garden and introduce me to plants saying ‘Meet ‘Eleagnus’, she has a secret’ and she would show me the underside of the leaves, which were a soft grey. Then “and here tucked behind poor little contorted Hazel, is Miss Wilmot’s Ghost” – dear Granny, I do miss her!

DSCF2959

And then home with our stash of cherries we had bought from a road-side stall from a man who came from Pembrokeshire in Wales, where my Mum was born – I recognised his accent.

1kcherrythey had been picked that morning and were juicy-sweet!

I love your comments - they make my day!

