Throw.n

Nearly finished ….

nearly finished

There is always a mini feeling of sadness when a big project is coming to an end, like when you arrive at the last chapter in a great novel and you don’t want to leave the world of the characters and the story.

I started this throw back in April, and if you are interested in the yarn and colours, click here and you can see the list I ordered. However I did not use the ‘raspberry’ in the end.

nearly

I have loved using this process of choosing the colours and working out the best combination and pattern and making up the sequence of colours according to the painting.

Has it worked? Well, I’m not sure it has – the zig-zags are maybe too bold … perhaps a more regular and repeating pattern would have worked better with single rows of each colour.

I have so enjoyed the ‘journey’ of it though. It holds many happy memories. It has led to making cushion covers for 3 grandchildren and they have been able to choose their own colours. And Miss E who painted this picture when she was 4 (at her house, so not in sight of the painting)

espic

as the sort of picture that Granny likes,  was able to play with colour. Teddy chose this combination for her next dress!

ted

And here is the throw, or snuggle blanket  …. finished (?). I crocheted a row of single crochet along the side edge in pale turquoise.

sumup

When a creative piece is not entirely a success I like to remember that “it is not wrong, it is just not finished”. A great quote – wish I could remember where I found it.

sumstarSo I will live with the Throw and enjoy it and probably try out another design for another cushion cover. And maybe make a second blanket that will harmonise in a more pleasing way. I do like it, but not LOVE it, so no big Ta Dah! on this one – work in progress.

 

2 responses to “Throw.n

  1. I know that feeling! It’s always the emptyness of not knowing what to do next 😛

    Like

    • Empty – yes Andipi, that describes the feeling – but not necessarily in a negative way – an empty pause waiting for the next impulse bringing forth the next exciting beginning – (I’m hopeless at goodbyes!) Thanks for dropping by, it’s lovely to get your comments.

      Liked by 1 person

I love your comments - they make my day!

