A Passion for Permaculture: Part 1

0fire

I first came across Permaculture in the late 1980’s and it has led me a very merry dance ever since! Almost every decision I make is based on Permaculture Principles. Masses of stuff has been written on the subject and you can find out more by clicking on the links – but  here are MY PPs:

1. Earth care, people care, fair share.

2. Live simply so that others might simply live.

3. Make each thing you do as energy efficient as possible: minimum input for maximum output.

4. Make each task or item as multi-functional as possible.

5. Think in zones and start with Zone 000 (your inner and/or spiritual well-being) – more about Zones another day.

I might think of more later, but they are my main guidelines for decision making.

And tonight my Permaculture in Action moment is ‘Lighting the Fire’:

I have a wood-burner with a flat top, so that I can cook on it, and on the right of it is a cupboard for the logs (note the 2 kettles for heating water, which I store in vacuum flask pump pots to use next day)cupboard

logs

 

so easy to get at

 

 

 

and holds masseslogs2 of logs because it goes back and back,

and is fed through a hatch on the

 

outside!storegenius eh!!!       (not my original idea) but absolutely PERFECT for log store efficiency …..

store2every wood-burning home should have one don’tcha-think!

 

 

6 responses to “A Passion for Permaculture: Part 1

  1. That hatch idea is brilliant! I’ve always wanted a wood-burning stove 🙂 ♥ ❤

    Like

  2. One can never be surrounded by too many positive reminders and affirmations. We just had a gusty and wild week, but calm today thankfully.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Your Stanley Range sounds brilliant – and thank you for the idea of the ‘principles’ being good to hang up – next time i’m in a doodling mood that will be a great project – hope you are not being blown around too much over there on the edge of the Atlantic, the winds are pretty fierce here tonight.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Love this! Your five principles could easily be on a lovely wall plaque I’d hang in a minute in my home.

    We have a Stanley Range that we also cook atop and inside of. It is equipped with a back boiler to heat our hot water and has a very aesthetic accordion clothes drying rack above it. I’m in envy of that log hatch!!

    Like

I love your comments - they make my day!

