New Year, New Pattern

Ta Dah!!!

New year, New Pattern! I am proud to announce a new pattern for my Ravelry and Etsy stores!                                 Exciting!

hatwig

This fun Chemo Cap or fancy dress wig joins 5 other designs and ishatw

modelled here so beautifully for me, back in the summer, by my lovely niece. h

It takes me absolutely ages to get a pattern from idea to online shop.                                This one was requested by a customer in America. All my patterns were in Chunky weight yarn, but she wanted one in Double Knit.

ha

It took a while to work out something suitable and then  knit it – those are the two easy, fun stages.

 

 

The hard part is writing a pattern for others to follow. After that painstaking, brain-aching procedure, I have to put the pattern aside for a few weeks or months and come back to it afresh to test knit it – it always amazes me how many mistakes there are! A punctuation mark in the wrong place and it can all go horribly wrong!

This one has been waiting in the wings for a while as I needed a few quiet days to test-knit and put the finishing touches to it – and this mid-winter break has given me that vital quiet time – hurray! I love my hibernation years. (I only ‘do’ Christmas in alternate years!) You can see what I did with these precious days 2 years ago here.

These knitted wigs are such fun to create and I get such lovely responses from knitters and crocheters, who are often making them to cheer up a loved one who is going through chemo. It is heartwarming to know that a pattern I created just to see if I could, and for a laugh, is larking around the world cheering people up and bringing in some lightness during a difficult time in their lives. We never know what we are really doing do we – we just have to keep doing what makes us feel happy, or what we feel compelled to do as artists, and see what happens – sometimes with happily serendipitous results!!

Happy New Year one and all!

5 responses to “New Year, New Pattern

  1. Lookin’ good, Sandra! Totally ❤ the bob on this haircut 🙂 ♥ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

I love your comments - they make my day!

