Walking backwards to Branscombe

……To continue my walk to Branscombe from Beer in Devon – it was such a stunningly fabulous day! B2That first sight of the red cliffs curving away into the distance! Wow and double WOW!!!

The visibility was perfect. There is something so restorative about being able to see so far, so clearly. I feel at once that I become as big as the panorama and at the same time feel like a teeny tiny speck in the vast universe and connected to all there is.

If you are at all bothered by heights skip the next photo

B3Just over the brow of the hill you are treated to an inland view of the villageB5And my goal ahead, the Sea Shanty Beach Cafe for lunch.B6I am so glad I did not know what an incredibly steep decent it is into Branscombe before I set off, or I might not have gone on this walk.                          I have osteo-arthritis in my right knee. I can walk up hill and along the flat for miles, but even with a knee support and a walking stick, as soon as I start going downhill the right knee starts to give up. My remedy: either go down sideways, or backwards or if VERY steep go as far as possible on my bum!B7Much to the amusement of fellow walkers!                                                              (You knew I would have pink boots – didn’t you?)

B8Look there is someone else going down sideways – the steps were much too muddy for any other ‘dodgy knee’ technique.B4

As you can see this is the route for a cross country run! That hill must be a killer! Hope it all went well for them.B10After the long muddy steps there is still a way to go – and this I did mostly backwards. A lot of people look curiously at me or stare straight ahead trying to ignore this odd behaviour, I prefer the merry quip and a bit if banter. It occurred to me that I have never come across anyone else walking backwards downhill – does this mean that people with arthritic knees just don’t go walking the hills and dales.

I also had the Goons singing in my ear:  I’m walking backwards for Christmas

One young person striding past said “there’s a Frank Sinatra song ‘Walking backwards in High Heels isn’t there?” so I tried looking it up and came up with these lyrics, but no mention of Frank.

“The Woman With You”

She hit the door 6:55 sack full of groceries split down the side.
Can goods scattered all the way to the curb.
Look on her face saying don’t say a word.
So, it’s me and her and a can of beans sitting there on the front porch swing.
Western sky all turning red.
Head on my shoulder she sighed and said:

Been gopherin, chauffeuring, company chairman.
Coffee maker, Copy repairman.
Anymore there ain’t nothing I swear man that I don’t do.
Been juggling, struggling, closing big deals.
Dancing backwards in high heels.
Just when it feels like i can’t make it through.
She said it sure is nice to just be the woman with you

 

Once at the bottom there is an information board to read whilst you summon up the energy for the last few steps to sit in a delightful garden at the Sea Shanty Cafe (you can also sit out at the front and look at the sea).

B11 with a cappuccino, to do a spot of crochet, whilst waiting for lunch. This is the start of a cushion for Big Bro, my grandson. He has requested dark colours, at 4 he knows exactly what he wants!B12

A quick visit to the beach, no beachcombing goodies to be found ….B13B14…… then a gentle stroll through the woods to the village …B15… which sprawls along the valley – more on the village another day but……B18

…. I must just tell you about Doreen’s garden – if you are ever in Branscombe you MUST go and see this magical, crazy garden, which is plainly Doreen’s life’s work and you can look around and explore to your heart’s content – all she asks is that you make a donation for Devon’s Air Ambulance service – fabulous!

And then I caught the bus back to Beer – a white-knuckle ride, switchbacking through tiny lanes with brambles scratching the bus from hedges on both sides!

Hope you enjoyed the walk.

 

WEDNESDAY WALK-ALONG: this week you can also go for a walk with Murtagh’s Meadow, in Ireland.

14 responses to “Walking backwards to Branscombe

  1. LoL … pink boots, of course! And wow, what a gorgeous walk…That view looking over the edge looks nearer than I’d ever get in real life 🙂 ♥ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Wednesday Walk-Along Beer to Branscombe 1 | Wild Daffodil

  3. Pingback: Big Bro’s cushion, part 2 | Wild Daffodil

  4. Pingback: WWAL: Doreen’s Garden and a Pub Lunch | Wild Daffodil

  5. I wasn’t sure if that shot of your descent was looking up or down for a moment. Steeeeep alright. Going down is sometimes tougher than going up. Hee, hee, ‘bum-walker’!
    Of course she has pink wellies. That’s what I thought to myself before I saw what you wrote! All fantastic photos. You must have a decent camera to get those scenic shots so clear. Xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for mentioning the photos – it was partly blogging that spurred me on to getting a good camera (and partly wanting to take portraits of my grandchildren). I took ages deciding which one (about 2 years!), but in the end I saw Hanna on the iHanna blog bought a Nikon D5200 and I thought, ok that’s it! I’ll get that one and mostly I’m very happy with it.

      Like

  6. I think I have a photograph of me going down Glastonbury Tor on my bottom and I was only in my twenties then! Nervous and poor balance rather than knees.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m a great fan of bum-walking, sideways and backwards walking to avoid aggravating my various painful joints. Yesterday, a glorious walk along Ynyslas beach was being undermined by a painful ankle, so I decided to just numb it by paddling in the sea and then walking barefoot. I was then able to enjoy another 90 minutes of magic!

    Liked by 1 person

I love your comments - they make my day!

