16 songs or Albums

The wittily wonderful Judy of Edwina’s Episodes has offered me a new challenge.

The rules: Don’t take too long to think about it. Sixteen albums you’ve heard that changed the way you thought about music…if you are too young to have owned albums you can surely choose songs. List the first sixteen you can recall in no more than fifteen minutes. Tag two friends, or more if you have the time, and then tag me because I’m interested in seeing what albums my friends choose.

I couldn’t say that any song or album “changed the way I thought about music”. Rather, they act as punctuation marks through my life: – I’m not musical, I don’t listen to music much and I can’t sing, however certain songs trigger happy memories rather like certain scents, or places do. And I do love to dance!

Which reminds me of one of my favourite quotes given to me written in Chinese calligraphy by my son

“Those who can not hear the music think the dancer is mad”!

Yep!

In response to Judy’s invitation, here goes:

1.The first Record I can remember being bought for me

Music from Swan Lake

My Granddad bought this for me when I was about 10, I think. It was a little 45rpm vinyl disc, which was bright blue for some reason. We were not a musical family, but he was a teacher so I can only think he gave it as an educational present. He told me the story of Swan Lake and gave me the record and listening to it now still gives me goosebumps.

2. Memories of my Dad and my Uncle Ralph

‘Rawhide’ by Frankie Laine

As kids we used to watch Rawhide on the TV with Dad and he said that his much loved brother, who died aged 36, used to sing this song as they herded cattle together.

3. My first smooch on the dance floor.

Whiter Shade of Pale by Procol Harem

1967, I was 15. I had my first smoochy slow dance at a barn dance to this record – you never forget your first time!

4 Portuguese passion

‘Sugar, Sugar’ by the Archies

1969 a holiday romance

5. Disco dancing

‘Freak Out’ by Chic

Strobe lighting, and ultra violet light lighting up only my teeth and my white underwear on the dance floor.

6. Falling in love

‘In The Summer Time’ by Mungo Jerry 1970

7. Husband

‘Hot Love’ by T-Rex

(I think Marc Bolan was one of the most beautiful men ever! Noel Fielding is now my guilty pleasure – do you see the similarity?)

And here is my tall, dark and handsome husband and me on our wedding day in 1972. He was 25, I was 19. ‘Hot Love’ was our song.

DSC_0675

8. Dances, friends

During my marriage we were part of  a large group of friends, always going to dances in one form or another and often at the end of the evening they would play

American Pie by Don McLean

and we would all sing along to it at the top of our voices.

9. Kids

My kids and I would dance around to this and play it on long car journeys to lift the spirits

La Bamba by Los Lobos

10. My Grumpy Grandmother

My maternal grandmother was a tad strange and quite grumpy a lot of the time – after one fraught visit we all got in the car and the kids spontaneously started to sing

Shout Shout (let it all out) by Tears for Fears

VERY LOUDLY!!! I joined in with gusto!

11. Divorce

A hellish few years when I listened to this album on a loop.

Album: ‘Down to Earth’ by Curiosity Killed the Cat

12. New Love

‘You Surround Me’ by Erasure

Album: The Innocents

Skin tingling …..  reminding me of that deep reawakening of desire – heady stuff!!!!!! Wow! Powerful memories revived! Let me just go and cool off ………. !

13. Challenging times

‘I get knocked down’ by Chumba Wumba

14. Eldest son

I have the most wonderful memory of going to stay with my eldest son for his end of college do and at the evening party, I was standing on a table taking photos of him and his friends when

Angels by Robbie Williams (1997)

came on and he and his friends all turned round and sang it to me – oh my! what a wonderful memory!

15. Daughter

‘The Joker’ by Steve Miller Band

“Really love your peaches, wanna shake your tree”

and he speaks of the “pompatus of love”!

This is a favourite of my daughter’s and her best friend and me – we all have quite magnificent peaches!

16. Son-in-law

‘Sit Down’ by James

“Those who feel the breath of sadness, sit down next to me; those who find they’re touched by madness, sit down next to me; those who find themselves ridiculous, sit down next to me; in love, in fear, in hate, in tears ……. sit down, down…. down…. in sympathy”

I could quote all the lyrics of this song. Poignant words set to upbeat music, which goes so well with certain times in my life when despite the rocky road we were being asked to travel, we mostly kept perky and danced along the trail. My son-in-law used to sing in a band, and knowing it was one of my favourites he sang it at a dance we were all at one night – special!

17. Embracing freedom

22531467a673e03146bd61cb2776cd9c

‘The Lark Ascending’ by Vaughan Williams

This sums up my feeling of joyful elation when I was driving off on a jolly, on the road to Compton Abbas which has glorious sweeping views of Dorset. This was playing on the radio and suddenly I realised how wonderfully happy and FREE I felt – just like a lark ascending!

image96

(photo from Google images)

18. Mum, Granddad, Daughter-in-law and Wales

Welsh National Anthem

My Mum and her Dad are Welsh. I love Wales. At my Mum’s 80th birthday my daughter-in-law had learnt the Welsh National Anthem to sing to my Mum – not a dry eye in the house.

Surely no-one can listen to this rousing song without being moved – it is full of the pain and the pride and the sound of the victory of a minority rising up against the oppressor! Cymru am Byth! Wales Forever!

*

And in my top iTunes lists are Elvis, Beatles, Stones, Proclaimers, and a  fabulous Drumming album all of which I love to dance to – especially the last one – go on give it a go – that will get the endorphins careering round your body!

Oh wow! I enjoyed putting that lot together and listening to each song as I went. A huge thank you to Judy ❤ ❤ ❤

As you can see I got carried away and just could not get the list down to 16 – I do hope you enjoy my choices.

Do any of the tracks bring back memories for you too?

I nominate anyone who would like to join in (most people have just listed the tracks – I just had such fun adding the links) – please do join us – the more the merrier – leave a link to your post in the comments below – have fun – I did!

9 responses to “16 songs or Albums

  1. Great list. Can I just, nicely, point out one thing though. Our Anthem is called Hen wlad fy nhadau or Land of my fathers xxxxx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow Daffy that was brilliant! I love the effort you put into it with the stories and links. I loved many of your choices as well, especially ‘You Surround Me’ by Erasure. Thanks so much for this, I enjoyed knowing more about you too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You took me on a journey through my life! Totally agree about Marc Bolan and Mr Fielding! I shall give it some thoughts, watch out for next week!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hurrah Cathy! It feels great that you can relate to my list – and my ardour for MB and NF. Is ardour the right word? Oh well, you know what I mean. I’m really looking forward to your 16, I have a feeling they will trigger more memories for me.

      Like

I love your comments - they make my day!

