In a Vase on Monday – herbaceous perennials

Our local garden centre is having a half-price sale of Herbaceous Perennials

I needed to snip off the flowers of some of them before planting and these blooms made it into this week’s Vase

DSC_0634 DSC_0635 (1)

A Chinese ‘foxglove’

DSC_0636 (1)

A delicate lilac coloured scabiousDSC_0636 DSC_0641DSC_0644

A Catananche, which can be used for drying apparentlyDSC_0647

A deep crimson scabious
DSC_0648and a few othersDSC_0641 (1)I’m looking forward to seeing if any of them come into flower again this summer, or will I have to wait til next year.

And does anyone know the name of this little beauty who was on my ceiling today.

Update: I think it is a ‘Small Magpie’

Food: The larvae feed on stinging nettles, mint and bindweed. The caterpillars remain hidden from predators by feeding inside a rolled up leaf.

DSC_0640 (1)Pop across to Cathy at Rambling in the Garden to see other wonderful vases from around the world.

23 responses to “In a Vase on Monday – herbaceous perennials

  1. I don’t know much about flowers, only the fact that I love them! Those flowers in the vase are beautiful Daffy, it looks like the outside has come inside! All wild and pretty 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice to have the double pleasure of some new plants and some new flowers to cut to make a very pretty vase. I don’t know the Japanese foxglove, do you know its Latin name?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Interesting to see all the different flowers up close. The chinese foxglove is very pretty Like the sound of your moth. Anything that eats bindweed can’t be bad!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Each flower sings in this arrangement. I’m going to growing scabious for sure next year.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I am afraid most of the plants I get from our local garden centre is when they are reduced – which sadly does seem to be a lot of the time so I hope it is not on the way out… I think scabious is going to be a new favourite of mine after the one in my vase flowered – mine was one of a collection from Hayloft but looks similar to your dark one. Love the catanche too, something I haven’t got. It is serendipity itself that trimmings from all your new plants look perfect together! Thanks for sharing

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Such a beautiful floral arrangement. The Chinese foxglove is new to me. I can almost feel it’s fuzziness.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Isn’t it wonderful when blooms come to us and just come together to make a beautiful vase…love the scabiosa!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Really pretty. Hope they flower again for you.

    Liked by 1 person

I love your comments - they make my day!

