Vase on Monday – pink and green

For Cathy’s ‘In a Vase on Monday’ here is my hint of a link to the country I am going to for my next holiday – eek! I’m very excited!

Can you guess?

DSC_0634

Set in a lime green bowl made by a Welsh potter.DSC_0650 DSC_0653
DSC_0668

Pink schizostylis and parsley flower heads. DSC_0670

Also joining in with Cee’s Flower of the Day

36 responses to “Vase on Monday – pink and green

  1. Pingback: Vase on Monday – Chives and marigolds | Wild Daffodil

  2. Oh my goodness, that is such a exquisite arrangement – you have quite a talent there. Beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lovely ikebana – simple and sweet. Are you going to Japan?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. What a gorgeous flower and a lovely arrangement. Wherever your holiday may be, hope it’s a good one!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. South Africa? The Schizostylis reminds me of Watsonia, another import from South Africa. The use of the parsley at the base was inspired!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Kris, the humble parsley flower, getting it’s chance to shine – I have so few flowers at the moment, necessity was again the mother of invention. You too are obviously a real plantswoman taking the clue from the plants, which hadn’t occurred to me! I’m a bit of a hit and miss gardener, but I do love it.

      Like

  6. Just brilliant using the flower heads of parsley…I just threw mine in the compost but now I know. This is such a beautifully sculpted arrangement with the kaffir lily.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. A very chic arrangement. Japan for ikebana lessons perhaps?

    Liked by 1 person

    • LOVE that you see it as ‘chic’ – and YES it is Japan! I am going on a textile tour, but if there is a chance of Ikebana lessons I will be at the front of the queue.

      Like

      • How wonderful! Will you be visiting some of the gardens as well? In the north, Hokkaido there is Tokachi millennium forest which Dan Pearson worked on. Or the various gardens at Kyto Prefecture? Or the Adachi museum of Art? I have never been but hope to one day. My Father visited often in the 1970s and always brought my mother back beautiful silks. Have a wonderful trip. Wel jel

        Liked by 1 person

        • Oh Crumbs! Looks like I will need a second trip! It is an organised textile tour – I know we visit a lot of temples and museums (but all south of Tokyo) so I hope they will have some lovely gardens. I’m taking a large case so that I can bring fabrics back.

          Liked by 1 person

  8. The schizostylis has a delicate bloom and I really like how you used parsley today.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Elegant display. Pretty lace mat too but it bugs me that the placement is not symmetrical!! Not sure why I like symmentry so much!!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I think you are going on tour… Wales to see the potter, France to checkout the cuisine then off to South Africa to see the wild flowers and finally to Japan for some Ikebana lessons.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Very beautiful and stylish, my first guess was Japan until I read Cathys comment!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Your first guess is right Julie! Japan it is!
      I love that Cathy went for the plants to give her the clue – the sign of a real plantswoman! Thank you so much for your comment – ikebana is a style I love but sometimes tricky to pull off.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. I had to google but I see ‘kaffir lilies’ are native to South Africa so am guessing that is where you are off to – unless it was French parsley of course!! This looks the same colour as mine – I had 2 spikes in my vase although one was unopened – does yours have a name? It looks very elegant in your vase – and also very tall but perhaps that is an illusion. The parsley is a great idea! Thanks for sharing

    Liked by 1 person

    • I love it! You are such a true plantswoman Cathy – looking at where the kaffir lily came from – clever! The one I have is about knee high, but alas I can’t find any record of its name. I was going for an Ikebana style, which is my hint…… But South Africa – now that’s a good idea – maybe a destination for the future.

      Like

      • Oh, wrong tack…I was looking for something more subtle than the Ikebana πŸ™‚ Something to be looking forward to – when do you go? The kaffir lily aka other things looked much taller than that in your pictures so I clearly misread the scale – it’s about the same height as mine.

        Liked by 1 person

  13. Such an elegant arrangement. Parsley! Interesting use.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Very simple but oh so beautiful. -)

    Liked by 1 person

  15. How very delicate and beautiful! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

I love your comments - they make my day!

