Excitement

DSC_0651 (1)

crazed muse moves the pen

scrimbling with excitement

creates peaceful mind

~

Joining in with Ronovan’s Haiku Challenge: MUSE and PEN

The two sentences work like this:

crazed muse moves the pen, scrimbling with excitement

scrimbling with excitement, creates peaceful mind

Did I manage to have opposite meanings in the two sentences do you think? I think I did – that, to me, is very exciting! (but not the main reason I’m excited this week)

Maybe it also conveys a little message – not a traditional moral tale or words of great wisdom perhaps, but that scribbling and scrimbling can be like a meditation and a stress-buster.

Have you heard of ‘scrimbling’ it is a kind of two-handed scribbling that Miss E did at school to help with learning to write and well as to calm the mind and help with concentration. Perhaps that was what Jackson Pollock was trying to do – to calm his troubled mindautumn-rhythm

I found scribbling and scrimbling on a large (A1 or larger) piece of card to be very freeing and wonderful to do.

EXCITEMENT is a very timely photo prompt this week! I’m VERY excited as I am preparing to go away to the land of the Haiku!!!

I am going on an organised textile tour and will be visiting artisans in their workshops. We have been told that the Japanese like to swap business cards, so I made some to take with me.

First I collaged one side of the large piece of cardDSC_0638

So relaxing to do – just tear up old magazines and place randomly til the whole area is covered – I did this whilst sitting in my sweet little caravan in the garden, called Pippin.DSC_0652

When the card is covered and the glue  has dried doodle all over it with a silver penDSC_0663

It is great to know that it will all be cut up anyway so you can just do loads of random doodles.DSC_0634

Then came the delight of scribbling all over the back of it – gosh it’s good to do this – taps into the inner child and feels SO relaxing and silly and fun all at the same time.

 

I cut the card up into business card sized pieces and printed out my details to stick on the back with the scribbling as a background.DSC_0638 (1)

 

To do this I used this wonderful little gadget – ooh I do love a crafty gadgetDSC_0634 (1)

A Xyron sticker maker. I also have a 5″ wide one as well for making bigger stickers, called a Xyron Creative Station. The grandchildren LOVE them. DSC_0636 (1)

You push in your artwork or printed paper one side and pull it out the other and hey presto! it is sticky on the back – magic!

 

We have been told that the Japanese also like to give little presents so I’m making some little crochet offerings to take with meDSC_0639

Have you been to Japan? Any timely tips?

Joining in with Bluedaisyz Photo Challenge: EXCITEMENT

Next week’s photo prompt: SHARP

Pop on over to bask in Cathy’s ‘excitement’.

And for a beautiful, romantic Haiku see Liz’s, here.

20 responses to “Excitement

  1. A textile tour?! How wonderful. I love this social calling card idea. How original.Thanks for sharing. ~cheers

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes Chica, I had a wonderful time and completely fell in love with Japan. It was fun to give out my own handmade cards and I still have plenty lurking in my handbag ready for their moment. 😉

      Like

  2. Wow! Going to Japan is exciting! I liked the haiku. I could see how scrimbling can relieve stress.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: RonovanWrites 68th #Weekly #Haiku #Poetry Challenge Review | ronovanwrites

  4. Oh my goodness, the people you’ll meet, the food you’ll eat! What an adventure. Your gifts are so thoughtful and creative, no surprise really 🙂 Have an amazing time. Sure, there’ll be inspiration at every turn!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. How amazing, the trip and the gifts. One tip, Japanese people are incredibly polite and really appreciate politeness in return. You may need to practise bowing. I can’t wait to hear more about it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I’ll get going on the bowing! I have also read that no chest area below the neck should be exposed – quite a few of my T-shirts scoop quite low, which seems to have been the fashion here for a while. Hmmm?
      Have you been to Japan? What did you there? Ooh lots of questions springing to mind. Thank you for your comment, I’m bowing as I type! xx

      Like

  6. Pingback: Yarn Along gifts | Wild Daffodil

  7. Excellent! Yes, it sure seems to help, blurting it all out.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Looking forward to hearing all about it when you get back. Hope you have a great time. So lucky!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Rainbow – yes I am extremely lucky! I have just bought a 32GB memory card for my camera – I don’t know how I’ll cope with not being able to upload and edit as I go. Looking forward to sharing my trip on my return.

      Like

  9. How creative you are – love those cards! Have a great time!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I can feel your excitement at this trip, have a wonderful time.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I loved the Haiku, and your excitement is very contagious Daffy. I also loved the business cards that you made, so original and pretty, not to mention creative!

    Liked by 1 person

I love your comments - they make my day!

