Windy Haiku

~

scattered by the wind

creative thoughts swirl around

grounded by the pen

~

1. A Haiku needs to be 17 syllables in a 5,7,5 formation.

2.The two sentences need to operate independently:

scattered by the wind, creative thoughts swirl around

creative thoughts swirl around, grounded by the pen

3. It should relate to nature or natural forces

4. The two sentences need to express opposites: scattered v grounded

5. And new to me, I learnt in Japan that a Haiku is not a Haiku unless it relates to one of the four seasons. Apparently there is a Haiku dictionary with all the  hundreds of words in it that can be said to relate to seasons. I’m hoping wind relates to Autumn, it should, don’t you think –  if it does then BOOSH! I’ve nailed it!

This haiku also relates to my day – it is VERY windy here – I am not a fan of the wind (oh dear there is a terrible pun in there somewhere) it makes me very unsettled, but doing some writing, doodling, drawing and writing a haiku, that has made me feel calm and settled, mmm happy Saturday –  at last.

Update:

ooops – almost forgot:

6. It is best if the Haiku carries a helpful message or wise insight – my message:

creativity helps, whatever the situation, it helps.

17 responses to “Windy Haiku

  1. I do appreciate the comment by Denis, very inspiring. Also, I don’t remember thinking of a haiku as two sentences. But I tried it just now and it seems to simplify things. Very enlightening! I can see becoming a fan of the 3.5.3. A good post:)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Having been so impressed and intrigued by your haikus I know I will get hooked once I start… perhaps why I haven’t done so as yet?! But I will, soon…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Remember | Wild Daffodil

  4. Love this! Post and haiku.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You’re right, creativity does help––always. Love the haiku. I knew some of these haiku rules but I didn’t know that Japanese haiku always involved one of the seasons. Good to know. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • It does, doesn’t it – why does the education system not value creativity more? I don’t know about the US but creativity is not respected anything like enough here in the UK.
      It is fun to discover new ways of working with these very few words. According to our Japanese guide, the 5,7,5 format, if not about a season becomes a ‘Senryu’, which she pronounced something like ‘sendoo’, but these were satirical poems about daily life and to mock the government at the time. She seemed gently amused by my attempts at haiku, but always very graciously encouraging!

      Like

  6. Great haiku and I love the “Grey” Tanka. my wife always photos grates and metal tree guards etc in Japan. Don’t worry too much about haiku writing rules in English. Each month I meet up with a bi-lingual haiku group that is organised by a Japanese Haiku master, (mistress). She encourages us to write 3/5/3 in English as this translates almost perfectly to 17 syllables in Japanese. About 8 to 11 words she says but also she says write as you wish. I have moved from English 5/7/5 to 3/5/3 and find it makes me really focus on the intent of message and to choose words carefully. For example in 3/5/3
    your Windy Haiku may look like this

    wind scattered

    creative thoughts swirl

    written down

    Be adventurous and have a go at a couple of 3/5/3/ after 5/7/5 and see how you feel!!!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Wow Denis! i LOVE your comment! And I love the sound of your haiku group. I absolutely fell for Japan in a big way – sounds like you and your wife both love it too. (there’s a lot of love in this reply!)
      I didn’t notice the tree guards – another thing on the list of things to do when I go back. Thank you so much for your tip and your encouragement. I already tried out the 3/5/3 in my appreciation of the Still Walks post I have just reblogged:
      nature’s sounds
      gentle on the ear
      sweet music

      Thank you, thank you! and Thank you again for the ‘follow’ – Welcome aboard, it is great to have you along for the ride! 🙂

      Like

  7. Is there anywhere that is not windy these days? It seems all I am hearing. And did you notice all the ‘grey’ references in this weeks haiku? A coincidence with Jamie’s word being the same. Anyhoo, nice haiku there Sandra. Xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know what you mean – I remember hearing back in the 80s that climate change would bring more wind. Yes I did notice the GREY references – it often amazes me how Jamie’s prompt words seem to resonate with what is happening that week. Glad you like the haiku. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Annette Rochelle Aben

    As I sit, observing the first snow fall of the season here, I am smiling at your haiku. We have little or no wind to complicate this h-e-a-v-y, steady snow. Thank goodness! Great haiku, by the way.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The ‘first snowfall’ sounds romantic, I love it when it snows here as there is such a quiet in the landscape. We usually have to wait til at least February, if it comes at all. So glad you do NOT have strong winds though – that causes all manner of disruption doesn’t it. So glad you like the haiku.

      Like

I love your comments - they make my day!

