Hare Haiku

IMG_1501

hare stares back

when captured in paint

wildlife tamed

~

Watercolour by my sister, C.T.

Encouraged by Denis (see his comment in the last post) I just had to have a go at a 3/5/3 haiku:

the two sentences working like this –

hare stares back when captured in paint

when captured in paint wildlife tamed

‘Tamed’ isn’t quite what I mean, but I can’t get a word that suggests we can now spend as long as we like looking at a normally elusive creature.

Any suggestions?

12 responses to “Hare Haiku

  1. Must say, I can’t think of anything better than has been suggested. Hard with only three syllables! Lovely painting and I like where you went with the haiku. They are sprightly!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love it. And tell your talented sister the painting is gorgeous.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s a bit archaic but ‘held for aye’ might work.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’d like to say that nanacathy2 took my idea….but hers is brilliant, I couldn’t come up with anything!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Not quite certain how the verse works, but could, forever mine do?

    Liked by 1 person

I love your comments - they make my day!

