Japan Day Two 4: Craft Centre

Here we are back in Japan and off to the Japan Traditional Crafts Centre Aoyama Square where we were given a detailed demonstration of the intricate way the weft thread is prepared for weaving the cloth to make indigo kimonos

c1

The cloth is woven in narrow strips. The weft thread is put on the frame you see above and the design is marked with a ‘resist’ on the weft thread at each place where the thread will remain white (undyed). The thread is then dyed in indigo, the ‘resist’ removed and then the cloth is woven with this thread. What a process!
c2
c4 c5

There were other smaller items made from this cloth

c3

The centre is supported by the Japanese government and only certain crafts that reach the required standard are admittedc6 c7 c8

c9

There was a mass of origami papers, very tempting!c10 c11

and cute little craft kitsc12

My notebook is filled with craft ideas, if any of them ever emerge into reality I will be sure to share them with you.

18 responses to “Japan Day Two 4: Craft Centre

  1. Pingback: Street – Japan 3:5 | Wild Daffodil

  2. Pingback: The Textile Tour of Japan continues | Wild Daffodil

  3. I’d have had trouble resisting one of those bowl (or 2 or 3).

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Japan. Day Two 5: Crazy Cats and a Hare in High Heels | Wild Daffodil

  5. I’ve had so many experiences in Japan but never a textile one like this. The closest I’ve come is a tour through my local towel manufacturing company. Learning about the jndigo dyes has been on my to do list for years. Hope you’re enjoying your trip!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Always plan to come home from Japan with a heavier suitcase or post back .
    It was great to see you made it to the Craft Centre. The prefecture display / sales centre in Tokyo is also worth a visit, I don’t know where it is currently located.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, you are so right Denis! I did post a bit back but that was quite expensive – I might do what some of the others did and have a second suitcase that one pays £65 to carry on the airline – but that might be going a bit far! I like the sound of the other sales centre you mention. I would have liked to have seen more crafts that were not necessarily to such a high standard – like a craft fair.

      Like

  7. There seems so much going on there Daffy, Your head must be buzzing with ideas. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Really interesting. Look forward to your craft ideas.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Now that sounds like a plan! Disposable clothes could help too . I know what you mean about being overwhelmed at so much choice! Look forward to seeing your project.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. But did you do any shopping. I couldn’t have resisted a kit or two or three….

    Liked by 1 person

    • I did very little shopping – buying only some of the prepared weaving threads for a project I have in mind – I think I felt a bit overwhelmed with the amount of things I wanted to buy and how much more I would be seeing and mindful of the baggage allowance – this was only Day Two of 14!! If I go again, I will only take the clothes I travel in and an empty suitcase! xx

      Liked by 1 person

I love your comments - they make my day!

