Tension

image🌞

February shadows

behind the tree, tied tightly

to catch the warm sun

🌞

I am running out of time for this post, how apt! Feeling the TENSION.

Ronovan’s haiku prompts his week are TIGHT and WARM

To be perfect, the haiku needs to have several elements included in these 17 (or 11) syllables.

This one has a reference to the season βœ… to nature βœ…and I believe there are opposites represented with ‘shadows’ and ‘warm sun’βœ….But try as I might I have not been able to get the two sentences to work. πŸ€” The first two lines and then the 2nd and 3rd lines should stand alone as complete sentences. The good thing is that there is always next week to have another bash at hitting the haiku jackpot.

This is one of my two fig trees, a Portuguese fig, held by taught, tight, tights against a south facing wall. Last year was the first year I had any edible fruit – 4 figs. Hoping for more this year.

please go to the Photo Challenge Page to find out more about our 52 week challenge, where you will see all 52 prompts listed. Graphics created so beautifully by Rainbow Jane.

Next Week’s Prompt: EXTRA

What would you photograph?

 

23 responses to “Tension

  1. And I thought you would have a haiku and photograph involving knitting!! Thanks for sharing your angst trying to get the haiku to meet its necessary requirements – I hadn’t thought about including opposites 😦 Our fig must have broken through the pot it was planted in below ground as it is massive and I am wondering whether to take it down and start again…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes I thought I was going to go the knitting route too, with a tension square, but I was running out of time and went with the first thing I saw that had ‘tension’ involved.
      In a comment below from ‘house of bailey’ he says it is more about contrasting ideas being expressed in the two sentences, hard to do and I don’t think many of the entrants take too much notice of this element, but my love of puzzles and word play means I like to see if I can get there, which rarely happens! Fun trying though. πŸ˜‰

      Like

  2. Pingback: Photo Challenge Round up: TENSION | Wild Daffodil

  3. Sandra your fig looks very happy against that warm wall. My tension is at https://digwithdorris.wordpress.com/photo-challenge-tension

    Liked by 1 person

  4. An excellent one! I always thought that haiku should have contrasting ideas so not necessarily opposites. The second concept should slash the train of thought. Most of mine fail this part miserably πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. A very Japanese haiku this week Sandra with great shadow play on the wall.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. It’s very difficult to get all the elements in but you managed to turn out a nice haiku anyway. As usual you combined the challenges brilliantly. πŸ™‚ Have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Like the photo and the idea of having your own fresh figs!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. This is a great haiku and photo Daffy. It is so tricky trying to always tick every box for the correct type of haiku, but then it is fun to break the rules too, sometimes! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  9. This is a great photo! And as always, I’m impressed with your haiku that is the perfect accompaniment. (one day I’ll try a haiku … )

    Liked by 1 person

I love your comments - they make my day!

