Photo Challenge Round-Up: Reflection

DSC_0995

Echo calls from the mountain,

Narcissus only sees himself,

a doomed reflection

~

I am combining the Round-Up with ‘In a Vase on Monday’, scroll to the end of the post to read more about the ‘Vase’.

Here are this week’s REFLECTIONS:

Jane at Rainbow Junkie……. …………… ………ad infinitum

Cathy at Nanacathy…….. ……. ……….. …….         sentinels

💜 me at Wild Daffodil……… ……… ……….water sculpture

💜 Cathy at Rambling in the Garden ……8 pane abstraction

⭐️ Denis at Haiku Hound…….. ……….. ………….water colour

💜 Roz at Umpteen Things ……………………………..barmy?

Roz at Umpteen Things……………… …………………..canal

💜 Becky at BeckyG ………… …….. ………..  ……..spooky?

Christina A Look at the Little Things ……. …………..pink

Dorris at Dig with Dorris ………… …… ……….soft sunset

Ali at Thimberlina.………… …………….. ….pink and grey

Del from Curls and Skirls……….. ………………..thinking

Srivi at Piscean Me……………. …………gold, grey, breeze

Jen at Let the Sewing Begin ……………… ……….take off

The 💜 denotes a post that is also joining in with Ronovan’s Haiku Challenge – it’s fun to combine the two.

The ⭐️ denotes a post with a poem or haiku written to go with the photo, but not using  Ronovan’s prompt words.

Please let me know if I have missed anyone

Thank you everyone for your fabulous Reflections.

Next up is the Photo Prompt

WORK

You can join in the Photo Challenge any time, click on the link to find out how to and see all the subjects for the weeks ahead.

~

In this post I am also joining in with Cee’s Flower of the Day, Macro Monday, DSC_1006

Today’s Flowers

and

Cathy’s  wonderful ‘In a Vase on Monday ‘ where she invites us to find things in our gardens to pop in a vase each week. The great thing about this meme is that Cathy also adds a few props and each ‘Vase’ tells a story.

The mirror in the photo above is an appropriate prop for a ‘Vase’ referencing a myth about unrequited love. It was given to me many years ago by a boyfriend. Before I opened the present he told me that when I opened the wrapping I would see the most beautiful thing in the world – and of course, as it was a mirror, I saw myself!

Sadly the relationship ended before I wanted it too, but it is always nice to remember the good things and I still love that little mirror.

24 responses to “Photo Challenge Round-Up: Reflection

  1. Love mythology and your first haiku about Narcissus is brilliant. 💛

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think that’s a lovely way to display and photograph a flower with a mirror to reflect it. Very pretty!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The poem is so insightful, I have known people with a narcissistic personality, and the exquisite little mirrored house where the narcissus can examine her beauty is such a potent illustration, it puts my imagination into a spin. I imagine that narcissus is a fragrant one, too, Sandra

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks so much for your comment Hannah. I too have known narcissistic personalities, they can be a challenge to spend time with. It thrills me to know that it set your imagination whirring!
      As you guessed the flower has a marvellous scent, just that one bloom has given my bedroom a lovely soft fragrance. I must get some more for the garden.

      Like

  4. Lovely colours in this, and great idea & composition!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What a clever idea! Love it.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love this vase as a reflection and when we see it by itself…simple beauty….of course the added haiku is a special treat.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. What a clever idea. Love your photos 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Beautifully composed in each photo. I love the reflection of the flower in the mirror. Thank you so much for sharing with Today’s Flowers. This is very much appreciated.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. A brilliant combination and a bittersweet story. We all have those objects from a long ago love and by this time the memories are usually pleasant.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Oh that is so appropriate Sandra – such a good link with the narcissus. Well done you, and thanks for sharing it

    Liked by 1 person

  11. What a romantic boyfriend!! great haiku and fascinating image especially with the story.

    Liked by 1 person

I love your comments - they make my day!

