Work

IMG_1008

beauty created

under pressure and time

by earth and by man

*

skills honed from a lifetime’s work

more precious than diamonds and pearls

~

Ronovan set us the prompt words of DIAMONDS and PEARLS this week for his haiku challenge.

To marry this challenge with our Photo Prompt of WORK  was a huge challenge and has taken me a while to get there. Go to Cathy’s Post to see more entries and leave a link to your ‘WORK’ photo.

I found it difficult to convey what I wanted to in the 5/7/5 haiku, a few more syllables were needed and so I have written a tanka this week. It does not perfectly fit the ‘rules’ but …

The sentiment is that beauty created by human endeavour and skill is more precious to me than diamonds.

The photo was taken in Mr. Hiroshi Murase’s shop in Arimatsu where we did our tie-dying workshop on my trip to Japan last November. They are preparing the cloth for dying by tying it in intricate patterns.

~

Miss E (8) saw me struggling with this challenge and wanted to write a poem using Ron’s prompt words – she wrote:

diamonds and pearls

diamonds and pearls

how lovely they can be

~

diamonds and pearls

diamonds and pearls

they form in the sea

~

diamonds and pearls

diamonds and pearls

they form under the ground

~

diamonds and pearls

diamonds and pearls

all waiting to be found

~

this is my poem I hope you like it

                                                                                       😀

   ~~~~~~~~

Next Week’s Photo Prompt is

LAYER

 

25 responses to “Work

  1. Pingback: Haiku Friday – Dragon & Invite | The Writer Next Door

  2. Miss E has the makings of a great poet! I always enjoy the way you combine the different challenges. That in itself is a talent. Interesting picture and loved the haiku! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Stars & Flying Sparks | Work in Progress

  4. Pingback: Photo Challenge Round-Up: WORK | Wild Daffodil

  5. Well worth the effort Sandra! Some weeks the challenge of putting it all together is really tricky. I have only managed the haiku so far and have really enjoyed reading through everyone’s take on diamonds and pearls. I am learning that I enjoy spending my time reading as much as composing!! 💚💛💜❤️💙
    Loved Miss E’s input…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Me too Roz, it is always fun to see how others interpret the challenges. I will pass on your comment to Miss E, she has loved being part of the challenge. I love the way she just wholeheartedly grabs what life presents to her and responds in such a positive creative way.

      Like

  6. LOVE the new header!!! Here’s my ‘work’ contribution. Cheers!! https://thearanartisan.com/2016/04/29/wholesome-work/

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Indeed it is lovely that Miss E is inspired to write poetry – long may it continue! It is a mixed blessing for a challenge to be especially challenging, but the sentiment of your tanka works brilliantly as does your work haiku. Not sure if I will be joining in this week as I have a few other things to be doing… 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Such an inspiring post – thanks for it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • How kind of you Cathy, I’m so happy to hear that you found this post inspiring. I get so much inspiration from other bloggers that it is good to know if it works the other way! Thanks for dropping by. ❤

      Like

  9. A beautiful collection Sandra hitting both challenges, Japan, Haiku/Tanka and Miss E is well on the way to class poetry.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Well done with the haiku…not an easy combo of words without a bit of creative fiddling and imagination, what it’s all about I suppose. It’s great to see Miss E joining in the fun too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Melissa, I always choose the photo first and then get the haiku to fit – this was the hardest yet.
      I was thrilled when Miss E wanted to join in – it gave us an opportunity to talk about poetry and different ways of writing them – a great Home Ed ‘lesson’ or should I say ‘session’.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh the lessons/topics that could be introduced and taught through poetry!

        I don’t know will I join in this week or not. Did you get my e-mail? Missing writing, just chilling today reading other’s posts…should be sowing seeds 😀 !!! I may just keep the pressure off until things calm down a bit here, when the end of the month rolls around, then I’ll be more suited to meet deadlines again. Hugs!

        Liked by 1 person

        • Yes I did get your email and was waiting for a quiet time to reply fully. Hurray for ‘just chilling’! I hope the Photo Challenge does not feel like a pressure for you – like anyone else just join in when it is do-able and fun! ❤

          Like

  11. How fascinating. I wondered what they were doing.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Love your interpretation of work and Miss E’s poem!

    Liked by 1 person

I love your comments - they make my day!

