Chelsea, more show gardens

From the immaculate Chelsea Barracks Garden

y

y1

to the geometric retreat of the Husqvarna Gardenx1

with that interesting shrub in the foreground, which I was disappointed to discover will not grow in this country. The garden is a replica of one in Melbourne, Australia.

x1a

The soft underplanting however was made up of European perennials

x1b

I noticed quite a lot of angelica in the planting this year, I planted one in my garden last year, but it is yet to show. It is a nice compliment to the ever present alliums popping up in so many of the gardens at Chelsea. I saw on the BBC coverage that at night this garden had up-lights beneath the clipped trees and LEDs set within the hedges, in a well-spaced row half way up the hedge – it looked magical.

In almost direct contrast…

w

the bonkers kaleidoscope of colour and planting that was the Greening Grey Britain garden.

I LOVED it and the concept behind it. It was hard to take it all in – there were about 10 gardens in one, just look at this Plant List.

Then go to this link to see a really heartwarming video about the garden and its future.

Growing things on roofs is the way forward!

w1c

Look at those orchids, amazing.

For even more craziness you can always rely on the showmanship of Diarmuid Gavin and his Harrods British Eccentrics GardenΒ with another massive plant list.

zx1

The planting was a fulsome riot of colour, the bay trees twirled, the box balls rose and fell, the border round the house travelled round, the roof went up along with the window boxes. I can’t say I liked it but for novelty value it could not be beaten.

I did like the little ballerina roses (at the top left of the picture below) spilling over the edges and wonder if I could recreate that in my front border, but Ballerina roses are climbers and grow to 5′ or more, so would they work in that situation? Any thoughts?

Could they be kept small? or is there a suitable substitute?

zx2

I’m really loving sharing my day at Chelsea with you Β – next up the smaller gardens – now I’m off to do some more weeding – hope you are having a glorious weekend!

~

23 responses to “Chelsea, more show gardens

  1. Wonderful photography. It must have been quite tricky, I’m sure with all the hoards. One day I will get there, but for now your photos and words have given me the next best thing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fabulous! So much purple….one of my favorite flower colors. I do hope it goes well in Angell Town, hats off to them for making the gardens such an important feature and getting the community involved.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great pictures and I loved the orange ‘shed’
    My friend Liz grows Angelica successfully and has given me seed a couple of times. Alas no luck for me so far, I think my soil is too heavy.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love following Chelsea on TV but have never been. The thought of those crowds…..

    Liked by 1 person

    • I went about 30 years ago and it was the crowds that put me off going again, but going on Members Day and getting there for entry at 8am worked really well – that is the only way I would do it again – and I am tempted to go again next year as we had such a perfect day.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Beautiful pictures. Hope your weeding is going well, never ending at the moment.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Beautiful πŸ˜„ You seem to have found a way of shooting without the hoards of people at Chelsea!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Alastair. We got there at 8am and on Members Day (Tuesday), which is less crowded – the only way to do it in my book – we saw everything we wanted to without having to queue. When we left at about 5.30pm there were queues of 50 people or more to see certain exhibits and rows of people about 5 deep to see the show gardens – euuuurggghhhh!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Great images, sounds like that Australian entry was cheating.

    Liked by 1 person

    • HaHa! πŸ˜‰
      I suppose if they were honest about it in their ‘brief’ they can get away with it. In reality most of the gardens are ‘cheating’ as plants are brought in from all over the world and plants are forced with heat and artificial light or held back in fridges – a whole science in itself. It does make me wonder about the ethics from an environmental perspective.

      Like

I love your comments - they make my day!

