October Birthday Blooms

dsc_0038

It was my daughter’s birthday yesterday, so I picked what my garden had to offer. A rather strange mix of colours, but definitely autumnal.

They sit in a metal jug that has ‘Made in Yugoslavia’ printed on the base – a bit of European history as Yugoslavia no longer exists. What a complicated story that piece of the world has.

I have included leaves of Liquid Amber and the berries of this shrubdsc_0003

dsc_0004

Can anyone tell me what it is? Cathy?

Joining Cathy’s garden party over on Rambling in the Garden which a such a wonderful celebration of flowers in bloom all over the world

I included Pheasant berriesdsc_0041

dsc_0013

Lusciousness!

And self-sown astersdsc_0040

which are a-buzz with flies and bees at this time of year

I’m hoping someone can identify this bee

dsc_0020

Murtagh’s Meadow will know, I’m sure.

I’ve learnt from her website that many bees are identified by their bums! – so here it is..

dsc_0031

The butterflies love it toodsc_0009

And at night I see little pale moths flitting around it. My front garden is a mess by my neighbour’s standards but it really is a wildlife haven and I love it.

I had to include one of my favourites, Schizostylis – has this got a prettier common name?

dsc_0033

It’s fairy’s skirt of a flower deserves a better name. I love the twist of the buddsc_0035

and the tint and pattern of the stalk carrying the waiting blooms.

Today she is dancing in to Cee’s Flower of the Day.

 

~

 

41 responses to “October Birthday Blooms

  1. A wonderful collection of flowers and berries – I had never heard the name ‘pheasant berries’ before. The asters are especially lovely. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Cathy – sorry it has taken me so long to reply! life just bowls along and I missed your sweet comment. The proper name for the pheasant berries is Leycesteria Formosa, I think it has quite a few common names in different parts of the world. xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Stunning arrangement in a beautiful jug. I can’t help with any of your questions I’m afraid. Your garden is a busy spot for the local wildlife, just as a garden should be.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Your flower selection for your bouquet is really special, love the vase.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I just adore that sunny orange vase! So retro, and you have filled it perfectly with those berries and asters. Yes, Schizostylus is now supposed to be called Hesperantha. But it has common names too, as described in this article: http://www.telegraph.co.uk/gardening/9690220/Botanical-identity-crisis-solved.html – I hope that helps!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The butterfly is a red admiral (Vanessa atalanta)…so pretty, as is your striking arrangement. Sorry I don’t know the berry or the bee. The foliage does not look like crabapple to me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oo I didn’t know that a Red Admiral was called ‘Vanessa’ – a much more appropriately feminine name. Thank you Marian.
      Having dissected the berries, I think the shrub is a cotoneaster – possibly ‘Cotoneaster franchettii’.

      Like

  6. Murtagh's Meadow

    Your bee looks like a common carder bee, a bit worn but you’d expect that at this time of year. They are the only bees left in my garden now as all the others have gone, till spring, when the queens will re-emerge from hibernation. Thanks for the bum shot too!!!! And beautiful vase and flowers too. Asters are a great bee flower. I’ve planted one this year but need to get more!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I didn’t know that bees can be recognized by their backsides – now that’s probably something I’ll never forget! I love the asters and the pheasant berries. I planted a Leycesteria last fall but it’s still anyone’s guess as to whether it will survive here (much less bloom).

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Such a balanced and beautiful bouquet – thank you for sharing all the luscious details with us!
    Belated Happy Birthday wishes to your daughter!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. A beautiful autumn bouquet in a cheerful jug – It’s a perfect blend of flowers and fruit. I love the pheasant berries, which I haven’t ever seen before.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Only a gues but looking at photgraphs your berry bush may be a Red Chokeberry – Aronia arbutifolia.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. You will be pleased to know (as I am) that schizostylis has been renamed hesperantha! Could you mystery shrub/tree be a crab apple? Some of them do have berry size fruits. I recognised the metal vase immediately as I had a bowl with the same pattern – don’t know why I got rid of it which presumably I have 😦 Your vase has got such a perfect blend of flowers and foliage and fruit – just the right shades to complement each other. Thanks for sharing

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hesperantha is a nicer name.
      I picked some berries of the mystery shrub to dissect and see that they are the same as the cotoneaster berries inside, so looking on the internet, I think it is Cotoneaster franchettii
      I have seedlings coming up everywhere. I hope the birds like it, but I have never seen them eating the berries.
      Shame you no longer have the bowl, perhaps it will come to light someday – I love the perkiness and bright colour of the enamel.

      Like

  12. A generous and colorful vase of blooms for your daughter.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Your bouquet is beautiful–a feast of colour and detail. I also loved the close ups and visitors.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. What a wonderful bouquet of flowers.Amazing what is still in bloom and I love the berries. The birds are busy in the garden eating elderberries. I doubt I could pick such a fabulous vase.

    Liked by 1 person

I love your comments - they make my day!

