Say it with Flowers

When I saw this message on Instagram, my heart leapt into action

Hello everyone. This is Emma and I'm asking you again for your help. I am asking for a "call to arms" or rather a "call to hooks"! Our girl, our lovely courageous girl has asked for flowers to decorate her coffin. I am going to be brutally honest with you and tell you that I am struggling to find the right words for this post. I am sorry if it's clunky. This young woman has more grit and courage than I could ever hope to attain and as far as I'm concerned, if she has asked me to ask you, then I will and you, I hope, will excuse the inelegance of my heartache. We don't have much time and I would love Jenny to see as many of them as possible so if you'd like to send a flower please do and as soon as you are able. Please don't be concerned about colour or yarn or technical ability, a flower is a flower and we will cherish every one. I know Amanda and Jenny are grateful to you all for your love and support. We can't always respond to all of your comments but we read them all and we appreciate them so much. Thank you all for everything. Emma x . . If you could send your flowers to us at: Little Box of Crochet, Atlantic Business Centre, Atlantic Street, Altrincham, UK WA14 5NQ . . You can also photograph your flowers and use #aflowerforjenny and she can see them that way too. Thank you x

A post shared by Little Box Of Crochet (@littleboxofcrochet) on

All my knitted and crocheted flower experiments, without a home, get put in a box waiting for a suitable project. Just the place to go to to find some flowers to send off to Jenny immediately.

all wrapped in tissue except a smiley daffodil to greet whoever opens the box

I’m lost for words, but I do hope “Love” covers all.

29 responses to “Say it with Flowers

  1. What a wonderful gesture this is

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh Daffy, how heart wrenching! I am so glad you were able to send such gorgeous flowers for Jenny. I am sure she and her family will love them xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh goodness! What to say? Reaching for the crochet hook, I suspect. So sad! 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yes, love covers all.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What a sad story–life seems so unfair. I don’t know how to crochet but I know that Jenny will be awash with flowers from all you loving folk!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’ll get busy his afternoon. xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s great Cathy. I just found a post on Instagram which tells of Jenny’s last four years of treatment for brain and other tumours, she is 19. The strength and courage shown by her and her Mum is amazing and inspiring. I’m truly counting my blessings today! ❤

      Like

  7. I’ve never made any flowers before. I guess I’m gonna have to learn. Thank you for sharing this.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Beautiful! I have started on my flowers, one done so far but will do a couple more before posting. It felt sad making the flower knowing why I was doing it, cannot imagine how they are feeling right now.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know what you mean. I’m imagining the feeling of so much love coming through the post in the form of colour and craft to provide a little joy to brighten the days to come.
      ‘work is love made visible’

      Like

  9. I’m away from all my yarn at the moment, but I’ll do this when I can get my hands on it again.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Murtagh's Meadow

    I haven’t crocheted a flower for a long time but I will certainly try for Jenny, it is such a beautiful idea and yours are so lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Such an emotive plea – I shall hook one up immediately.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Words are not enough….x

    Liked by 1 person

I love your comments - they make my day!

