Passion for Pineapples

DSC_1095Have you noticed that lately, pineapples are appearing in all sorts of places, on clothes, as jewellery, on china ……….

I’ve had a ‘thing’ for pineapples for a while, and have a couple of them cheering up the doors of my dated kitchen cupboards, (along with a clown drawn by Miss E when she was 6).

DSC_0872

DSC_0874

They were painted by Raoul Speek, a Caribbean artist living in Solva, Pembrokeshire. Decorative pineapples have popped up in all sorts of places since they were first brought to the British Isles.

Origin of the Word
The word pineapple in English was first recorded in 1398, when it was originally used to describe the reproductive organs of conifer trees (now termed pine cones). When European explorers discovered this tropical fruit they called them pineapples (term first recorded in that sense in 1664) because of their resemblance to what is now known as the pine cone. The term pine cone was first recorded in 1694, and was used to replace the original meaning of pineapple

They are often found in and around old houses as a symbol of prosperity – like on these railings outside a house in St.Davids.

DSCF9841

DSCF9845

Raoul Speek’s pineapples inspired a cushion I made back in 2013

DSCF2035

And more recently I ordered some smaller wooden shapes from Hazel Woodcraft for the grandchildren to decorate as presents.

DSC_0017

A trip to the Caribbean fuelled my Pineapple Passion,

DSC_1401

they were everywhereDSC_1399

on chairs

DSC_1400

as wall lights

DSCF0325

pool-side lanternsDSCF0319

balsa wood sculptures

DSC_1435

on carpets

DSC_1253

DSC_1254

and can you spot them in this room?

DSC_1430

yes, the tray.

DSC_1431

I loved the atmosphere in that house – it’s name is Serendipity and you can stay there……

…….. and then……oh! …. oh my goodness! … my heart skipped a beat,  I saw a pattern for Pineapple Bunting on Ravelry …….

DSC_0023

and hey presto another mini-obsession takes hold ………DSC_0024

 

DSC_0025 (2)

So many colour combos to explore!!! Juicy!

to be continued….

 

26 responses to “Passion for Pineapples

  1. Oh these little pineapples are jut so cute, I love them! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Laurie Graves

    Pineapples, pineapples! Lovely to look at, even lovelier to eat. When my daughter went to Hawaii, she ate so many fresh pineapples that she developed a rash around her mouth. She said it was worth it 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I had not noticed the pineapple trend–I wonder if it isn’t in the US yet? Or maybe I’m just trend-proof. I know, as someone else said, that it was a very popular motif in colonial American–not sure why!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. They certainly are working their way into daily life Sandra, next a pineapple may run for President of the USA, (anything is possible)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thinking of pineapple stories. I remember my grandmother and aunts in Wales all telling me about how my father had had to travel to Singapore for a day or two and not needing much clothes came back with a suitcase full of pineapples that were the best they had ever tasted!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. So clearly I go around with my eyes shut. I hadn’t noticed pineapples everywhere, but now that you have mentioned it I probably shall, just like when I wanted a baby everyone was suddenly pregnant. I have athing for lions at the moment. Hmmm And I thought you had painted that first pineapple too… Pineapple bunting, now there’s a thought…

    Liked by 1 person

    • I expect all things leonine to start appearing soon! I love that you thought I had painted that pineapple. I’m thinking I might use that first photo as a starting point for a painting, but I expect anything I produce will turn out looking more like the Speek version.
      The pineapples are a great little portable project. Each one takes me about 45 mins from start to finish. xx

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I don’t think I had heard the origin of the word before, Sandra – thanks for that. I love to see and hear you getting enthused by a theme 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • I had often idly wondered about the origin, but never thought to look it up – another thing I love about blogging, it pushes me that little bit further. I am so caught up in crocheted pineapple fever at the moment, it is a wonderfully portable distraction – so glad you are enjoying the ride!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Yes, they are everywhere {along with owls and flamingos too} Did you know there is a pineapple atop the Men’s Singles Wimbledon trophy? Or that in Colonial America it was a sign of welcome and hospitality? Or that once my Daddy ate the skin and all! There’s a lot more to this delicious fruit than salad! I also worked for the people who own that house with the railings ~my first Saturday job!
    Oh, and weren’t Raoul Speek’s pineapples on display at the TIC Cafe a sight to see? Lucky you to have secured two of them!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, Piffle! I’m coming through as Anonymous ~ I hate that! It’s me, Deb in Ty Ddewi!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Now you mention it I remember that pineapple on the Wimbledon Trophy, I didn’t know about it being a symbol of hospitality though. Now why on earth did your Daddy eat the whole thing!????? He must have needed a fair bit of water to get it down surely. I thought you might know a bit about that house – it was up for sale last time I was there.
      I did love to see those pineapples at the TIC. I bought one from his studio a few years ago now, and then my sister bought the other one as a present for me. She bought herself one as well, which inspired me to make the pineapple cushion for her as a birthday present.
      (I don’t know why you are coming up as ‘Anonymous’ Deb – and I have to approve your comments each time – the Google gremlins or the WordPress weasels maybe)

      Like

  9. Pineapple bunting-perfect! Pineapples and flamingoes are everywhere! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Wow! So many pineapple beauties. The first photo intrigued me. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Synonymous in my mind with tropical vacations~

    Liked by 1 person

I love your comments - they make my day!

