Love-in-the-Mist of time

DSC_0149

Joining Cathy with the wonderful In a Vase on Monday meme.

Love-in-the-mist, Gardeners Garters and (learn to love your weeds) ground elder flowers.

They are cosying-up in an old glass bottle that I found in the hedge of the farm cottage I lived in many years ago. Some of the materials in this piece of collage/embroidery are from that house and that time – the 1970s. Happy memories.

This is how the piece looks now with some Swarovski crystals added and some more stitching.DSC_0152

I’ve combined a little crochet to add to the texture

DSC_0150

I’m just a tincey bit excited about adding crochet to embroidery and fabric collage – no that’s not true – I’m leaping about and squealing with excitement – can’t wait to see where this takes me.

~

Thankfully, life is returning to somewhere near normal, a health scare in the family caused us all some anxiety for a while and daily rhythms went a bit haywire, but happily we are through to the other side and good health and well-being has returned. Sorry to be mysterious but as it was not my own health issue, I don’t feel I can say more.

I have just spent a wonderful few days recharging my own batteries with creativity – that’s what works for me. Sleep doesn’t do it, but sewing, painting, crochet and being in my own creative space, exploring all manner of delicious possibilities does it every time. I’ve even started dreaming in stitches and colour combinations again!

I feel like I’ve hit a Vein of Gold, long may it last.

37 responses to “Love-in-the-Mist of time

  1. Glad to hear that your family health worries are over. I find at times of stress my creativity is stifled so it’s good to hear you have been able to recharge your creative batteries again. I love being able to mix media in projects (not that I have done much of that for years) I keep thinking about mixing watercolour and embroidery but I’m not sure how… I need to think about it a bit more!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the flower combination – bravo for using ground elder! I have tried to love it, but there is just too much of it in my garden! Your collage with so many pretty details and textures is lovely too. 🙂 Glad the health scare is over and you can breathe out and channel your energy into being creative again.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ground elder is such a pain isn’t it – I think it came into my garden when I used some horse manure picked up at a farm gate, I’ll never do that again. Thank you for your supportive good wishes. I feel very blessed and happy, definitely a time to count blessings and as you say – breathe!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Textile artistry being woven here Sandra.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I am so glad for you that you have creativity and creating as a balm to get you through tough times! I completely understand that and always feel a little bad for people who don’t have something that gives them that joy. And it’s so neat to see the fun you are having!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wow! I am looking at this thinking of all the time that went into it. And I really love that creativity is how you recharge your batteries. This is beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much Angie. It does take a ridiculous amount of time, especially after speeding along with crochet, creating acres of blankets. I really had to adjust my expectations of what can be achieved in a day, but that is part of the recharging process for me – the slowing down to a meditative pace. So glad you like it.

      Like

  6. Murtagh's Meadow

    Beautiful! Love the textures, the colours and the vase of flowers just perfect beside it. And glad to hear that things are all okay with your loved ones. Our health is our wealth.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Spectacular! And so glad the health scare is over and all is well.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. It’s a sweet little vase even if some of the contents are weeds! It sounds like a great way to recharge.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Your fabric collage is magnificent! The addition of the crystals and crochet elements is inspired. The vase makes a lovely accent. I had to look up gardener’s garters, though – I’d never heard of that before and was surprised to find that it’s a grass that should grow here.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ah – GARTERS, not ‘Gaiters’, I have corrected my mistake. I only learnt its name by asking on a previous IAVOM post. I really love the look of it in the border – it spreads and can be a bit of a bully but it is not too hard to pull out. I tried to grow it in a sunken pot to keep it under control but it sulked and never looked good. It looks lovely now.

      Like

  10. Wonderful news all around, hurrah! The collage is fascinating, and I love the colors and textures. I could look at it the rest of the day….wish I could!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Beautiful!! I’ve never heard of Love-in-the-Mist – beautiful! Great story – and I’m glad good health has returned to your loved one. I love the collage piece, too. I’m kinda wondering something, though. How is it meant to be displayed? Is it a wall-hanging, or a table runner, or…maybe however you want to use it? Just curious. The contrast of the crystals and the embroidery is delightful – I keep scrolling back to look at it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m loving your comment Cathy. Love-in-the-Mist is also called Nigella, it is a lovely plant, which seeds itself, takes care of itself and does not get eaten by snails – a winner!
      I started the collage as a wall hanging, thinking it would end up displayed like the one in this post: https://daffodilwild.wordpress.com/2017/01/29/textile-wall-hanging/
      But now I’m wondering about mounting it on a canvas, with shells and pebbles hanging down over the bottom edge of the canvas……..
      Thank you so much for your interest and your questions, I really love creative discussions like this. ❤ 😀

      Like

  12. Beautiful creativity is flowing through you these days! That collage is wonderful– I love the colors, as well as the similar colors in vase and flowers. Splendid!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Lovely arrangement…I completely get your way of relaxing. Love the textiles and gained some inspiration there. Have a good week.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Love in a mist is a rather wonderful flower, something of the fairy world about it. As for your embroidery, am a zing! Love it. Free form crochet as an embellishment, why not?

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Love the title, Sandra, and the dinky vase, and your collage in the making is suitably embellished with beads and especially that crochet since I last saw it. Glad to hear that the health scare is no more – what a relief!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Sweet little bouquet. I love your new piece. It is full of your wonderful personality. All come through with each stitch.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. I have always loved Love-in-the-mist but the flowers are definitely upstaged by your collage!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Fab textile work!
    Going off on a tangent now, the “Vein of Gold” has me doing mental links to wabi sabi and art as therapy; art is the gold with which we heal. Too complicated to verbalise on a Monday morning, but it’s certainly waking me up now!

    Liked by 1 person

I love your comments - they make my day!

