Silly Seaweedy Saturday

DSC_0499

This little chap was made by my son-in-law.

I have recently returned for a week’s holiday in Solva, with my daughter A, M and their 3 children.

Wales is always wet and windy, but we did have a glorious time with masses of sunshine, days on the beach building sand dragons and rock-pooling, wild walks, meeting up with family and friends, and relaxing in the evenings with a glass of wine – and seaweed.DSC_0512 (1)

A Wild Food Foraging walk with Julia of Wild About Pembrokeshire, gave us the information that all seaweed in the UK is edible, so long as it is still growing on the rocks. So I gathered some, washed it and marinated it in SoySauce, piri piri, black pepper and lime juice, garnished with edible honeysuckle florets.

The seaweed was crunchy and delicious to nibble with a glass of Pinot Grigio or a tasty Malbec. Go on try some!

 

23 responses to “Silly Seaweedy Saturday

  1. Well, no seaweed in my neck of the woods…maybe I can find something just as intriguing here in SD!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Making art from found objects is a wonderful tradition. I just might have to give it a try sometime. I just love the fanciful creatures you create.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love the little seaweed man, but don’t fancy eating it, although I believe it is supposed to be very good for you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Another generation making art from found objects!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. There is always lava bread

    Liked by 1 person

    • Indeed there is but I looked into it and to make Lava Bread from gathered seaweed is a time consuming process. The seaweed has to be boiled for hours it seems in order to make the lava.
      We did cook some and had it stir fried with onions, garlic and chilli. M and I loved it – the others weren’t so keen!

      Like

  6. So making figures for fun is catching!! Not sure about eating seaweed, think I will stick to the chocolate eclairs, carrot cake and creme brulee.

    Liked by 1 person

I love your comments - they make my day!

