January Photo Challenge: Tree and Sky

I have been getting up and out to see the sunrise this month

It is part of a new sleep management programme I am taking part in to cure my chronic insomnia.

The photo above was taken on the hill about a mile and a half from my house.

The one below was taken whilst staying with a friend by the sea.

This one (below) was taken with my back the the setting sun. I felt so wonderfully at peace and full of gratitude in that moment.

I do take rather a lot of photos of the oak tree at the bottom of my garden.

To me it has a feminine quality.

Thank you to Nanacathy for hosting the Photo Challenge.

Sunrise light

Making mood feel bright

Good sleep tonight

29 responses to “January Photo Challenge: Tree and Sky

  1. Absolutely amazing photos – oh how I love the purples!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. All beautiful photos. I especially love the tree. Such color!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So sorry to read of your insomnia, Sandra – I am a real sleep advocate and try my best to support people who have difficulties, as I know how important it is. What is your new regime? I do hope you benefit from it and can reset your body clock. Lovely to see your haiku, and curiously I was thinking just yesterday about our period of writing haikus and linking it to word and photo themes too – it was a lovely albeit time sonsuming challenge! Oh and your photos are lovely too! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Cathy. I am following a Sleep Programme called Re:Sleep, which is based on scientific research spanning 20 years in UK and US. I was sceptical at first but fully trust it now.
      I am to get up at exactly the same time each day, only go to bed when sleepy tired (my biggest challenge) and not spend any time in bed other than during my ‘sleep opportunity window’.
      There are other things like exposure to light and early morning exercise, hence my choice to get up to see the sunrise.
      I think it is my best chance of changing my poor sleep pattern.

      Haiku: yes, I have been encouraged to write haiku again after Denis has returned to blogging. It makes such a difference having a haiku buddy or two.

      Like

      • I wonder if it refers to Mathew Walker’s ‘Why We Sleep’, a book I highly recommend. I really hope it works for you although I am sure reprogramming your habits will be hard – but you will stick at it, I feel sure. The programme includes things that I do as a matter of course, but then again I am lucky and have never really had a problem with sleep, and have prioritised it for many many years.

        I always found haikus a good mental challenge and will try and find time to dip into them again…

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Beautiful images Sandra and what a powerful haiku you have written. Just as creative as ever.

    spirits lift
    sunrise and sunset
    energy

    I must check Cathy’s challenge

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Lovely photos. Your oak is indeed a beauty.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh, my word! What exquisite photos, especially the first one with its lavender and red hues. I hope your new sleep regimen helps with your insomnia, but even if it doesn’t, you have those fabulous photos.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Laurie.
      I have had insomnia on and off all my life, so I’m not expecting a quick fix – the positive spin off of the programme is the encouragement to get me out into the light in the early morning – giving me a reason to see the sunrise. 🙂

      Like

  7. Those are exceptional pictures. Thank you

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Going Batty in Wales

    Lovely pictures Sandra! I rarely see the sunset because the sun goes below the hills to my West before there is any colour but at this time of year i can see the sunrise and sometimes it is so beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Murtagh's Meadow

    I especially love the last one

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Lovely to see all those gorgeous pictures. I especially like those purply violet colours you captured. I hope your insomnia is deminishing. Thank you for joining in.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It feels lovely to have a photo challenge again – thank you!
      I’m at the hard slog stage of the sleep programme, but I have to trust that it will work in the end. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Totally advocate keeping a diary of everything you try. Optimum bedtime for me is 10.30, last drink no later than 7pm etc

        Liked by 1 person

        • Yes, we fill in an online record of each night, that we submit to a sleep coach. We also have a friendly telephone consultation with the coach whenever we need it. The programme is very supportive, with live seminars twice a week and a Facebook group for those of us at the same stage in the programme. 🙂

          Like

  11. Beautiful pictures.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I don’t do it very often but I love getting up early to watch the sun rise, it always feels so peaceful and quiet. Beautiful photos.

    Liked by 1 person

I love your comments, keep'em coming :-)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.