Under the Sea: Crocheted Coral

As many of you know, I love creative collaboration.

So when Mrs Snail posted her Scrap Happy post about their proposed shop window display, I was immediately digging out suitable scraps of yarn to make some coral.

You might be interested in this Ted Talk about a couple of women who coinordinated an enormous crocheted Coral Reef and link the forms to mathematics

https://darlombfiberart.wordpress.com/category/freeform-crochet/

It is the most wonderfully relaxing, freeing and freeflowing way to crochet – anything goes. Mrs Snail emailed her pattern to me and then I just went for it, making spontaneous changes to size and numbers of stitches to form these delicious little sculptures.

They are so tactile and wonderfully squidgy and fascinating in the way they change as you move them around.

I wanted to make big pieces and thought I would share how I made mine with you, in case you want to have a go.

I have used a 5.5mm hook with DK yarn. But you can use any size of hook with any size of yarn.

The Crochet terms I use are US terms.

Ch4 to start (or make a magic ring if you prefer

Slip stitch into the beginning chain to form a circle.

Ch3 to make the first stitch, 7dcs into the circle.

Sl st into the 3rd beginning chain.

Ch3, 2dcs or 3 dcs into each st all the way round, Hdc into the 3rd starting ch and continue round in a spiral from now on.

Increase at random whenever you like.

If you want it to be big, increase less often to grow the central area, with more increases towards the edge.

I made the edge look extra frilly by single crochet, ch2, single crochet in the next stitch all the way round.

I was able to use up some of my Mum’s stash

Popcorn stitches add texture and interest.

I love the look and feel of them and will keep some for myself, but I’m not sure what to do with them!

I used cotton for this one, but found that it does not hold the shape as well as acrylic yarn

They devour yarn, so it is an excellent Scrap Happy project.

I’m joining Kate and her other Happy Scrappers.

KateGun, EvaSue, Lynda,
Birthe, Turid, Tracy, Jan
MoiraChrisAlys,
ClaireJeanDawnGwen,
Sunny, Kjerstin, Sue LVera, 
 Ann, Dawn 2, Carol, Preeti,
NóilinViv, Karrin, Amo, Alissa,
Lynn, Tierney and Hannah

 

38 responses to “Under the Sea: Crocheted Coral

  1. They look fun! Perhaps an on tank with some crochet fish in too. 😁

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ooo that’s a good idea. I loved fish tanks until I saw shoals of exotic fish in a tropical ocean. After seeing them wild and free, I can’t bear to see them confined to small tanks – but crocheted , well …….. yes.

      Like

  2. Love this, I really must try to do some corals!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Those are amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh wow, love these Sandra!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Going Batty in Wales

    I have been making some too Sandra and my little group of learners have loved doing hem – such an easy pattern to do, no problem if an occasional miscount happens and good practice at doing double crochet! I like your border and may copy that in my next one.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. They are lovely Sandra! So tactile. And I can imagine the pleasure at making them freehand too. I think having one in your pocket to play with in a stressful situation might be wonderful therapy! 😜

    Liked by 1 person

  7. These are so awesome – they do look like coral but much softer! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. These are lovely, and it always amazes me in this case how art imitates nature. I think the Snail’s window display is going to be outstanding and inspirational.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. fabulous fun. The frilly edges are really great.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Love it! And they do resemble coral.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Pretty. I especially like the red with the green edges. Interesting that the acrylic holds it shape better.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Ooh, these look lovely. It looks like an interesting project for a rainy afternoon when I’m not in the mood for anything else.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Brooches? I don’t have any scrap yarn at all, only full skeins, so I’m going to use one of my KosyKitchenFibres DK skeins to demo with at Stitching4All at the end of the month, and see what it creates.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Absolutely gorgeous

    Liked by 1 person

  15. So happy to have inspired you. We’ve been using up some very quirky yarn with great results.

    Liked by 1 person

I love your comments, keep'em coming :-)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.