In a Vase on Monday: Funky? Elegant?

Can funky be elegant and vice versa?

DSC_0634

You decide.

Elegant: Japanese anemones and a variegated grass (name?)

Funky: plastic vase which seems to pick up on the darker pink tone in the anemones perfectly.

And don’t you just love the shadows it makes.

DSC_0642 (1)

Joining Cathy at Rambling in the Garden.

and Cee’s Flower of the Day

DSC_0638

And what a treat – if you Google ‘In a Vase on Monday’ and go to Images – gasp with joy! you see the MOST wonderful collection of vases, a real visual endorphin hit. That’ll brighten up your Monday!

38 responses to “In a Vase on Monday: Funky? Elegant?

  1. I love the closeup too and how the light
    shines through the petals! 😊🌟😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: In 2 Vases on Monday | Wild Daffodil

  3. Elegant! Complimenti!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Looking Back | Words and Herbs

  5. Oh definitely funky – and, ahem, the image Edwina refers to resonates just a little with me (although I have a purple streak today and not pink…) 😉 You have captured the light shining through the anemones brilliantly – that last photo is great! And thanks for the googling IOVOM suggestion – wow! little did I know when I started the meme where it would lead, and I am sure there are plenty of others posting vases on a Monday that don’t add a link and we are not always aware of.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yay! Funky!
      Google images was a fabulous revelation when I first saw it, the page is SO beautiful isn’t it – well done you – you must feel rightly proud!!!
      Ah! another nice link – until recently I had a magenta streak in my hair, and before that magenta all across the bottom at the back.
      I’m glad you picked up on the light – the morning sun shining through the delicate pink petals was irresistible.

      Like

  6. Fabulous pinks! I think the vase and the anemones compliment one another perfectly

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Definitely elegant, but funky? The funky plastic doesn’t come across in the photo – I thought it was expensive crystal! 😉 The perfect colour for the anemones though. Thanks for the tip about google images…. oh yes, what joy!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Cathy. I realise now that I need to add photos of the vase without water in it to better describe it – it is made of soft flexible plastic and lies flat when empty – I have a couple more somewhere – I’ll see what I can do for next Monday. So glad you enjoyed Google images! xx

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Now, if you hadn’t told us, we wouldn’t have known the vase was plastic, not that it matters anyway. I think simple is always elegant. The shadows are marvelous! I love Japanese anemones but, in light of our drought, there seems little chance I’m going to see any in my own garden this year.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Gosh a drought! We have had a very soggy August here – which means happy anemones. I will have to take some shots of the vase to display its plastic-ness for next Monday. Thank you for your comment.

      Like

  9. Both funky and elegant, like your vase!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Great! I’m so glad you like it. Who knew funky and elegant could co-exist in a vase – now could I pull that off with what I wear? Hmmm! I’ll have to think about that one, I’m not as tall and slender as that vase!

      Like

  10. I agree that this is both funky and elegant. Elegant with the slender pink vase and the beautiful anemones and funky with the grass. It looks a bit like a classily dressed woman with a wild hairdo! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Very elegant. The flowers and vase appear to be a tall thin model with an elegant gown on.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I love your description, I hadn’t seen that til you pointed it out, it must be the ‘waist’ created by the neck of the vase – i might think of vases as personality types from now on – that would be a new approach to flower arranging. Fun! Thank you Lisa.

      Like

  12. absolutely this funky vase can be elegant….my anemones are just blooming….I had never thought to use the many budded stalks instead of separate blooms….love this vase!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. The pink flowers and pink vase are gorgeous together. Wonderful photos.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. The Japanese anemones are a nice choice for your vase. I saw some recently at a public garden and was wishing my garden had some.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much for your comment. I love the way the flowers catch the light and dance above the foliage. I’ve seen them in white too. Will you be able to grow them in your garden?

      Like

  15. The Japanese Anemones with all their buds going every which way seem almost wild and exuberant to me, though the flowers themselves are elegant, but I can’t really tell the vase is plastic, and the light does make lovely shadows. The striped grass looks somewhat like Phalaris, I like the variegation.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I love the way we all see slightly different things and now I see the ‘wild and exuberant’ that I didn’t see before – thank you. I looked up Phalaris and yes I think you are right – thank you again! I know it s supposed to be invasive but I love it in the borders adding light and movement.

      Like

  16. Funky and elegant. A great combination. The delicate softness of the flowers and the untamed look of the arrangement make me think of youth- curiously going in all directions and so free!!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. You have quite a collection of vases! The anemones are a very pretty pink.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You are right about the vases Rainbow (I don’t know your name, so I hope calling you Rainbow is ok with you!) – and they have all been in hibernation for ages – this meme has been a joy on many levels and bringing vases out from remote cupboards and dusty corners is one of them. They are a bit like exhibits in a museum of different parts of my life! Fun memories.

      Like

  18. Love the vase; I’ve just been give a plastic ‘crystal’ jug for my birthday, it sort of sounds horrendous but is actually lovely. You have achieved funky and elegant all at once – great!

    Liked by 1 person

I love your comments, keep'em coming :-)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.