Textile Tuesday: Box

Textile Tuesday happens on the first Tuesday of each month. Join in by leaving a link in the Comments. Current or archive posts are all welcome, your own textiles or those you have seen out and about.

textile art, box

Inspired by Cathy’s Scrap Happy post, I was itching to have a go at making a fabric box.

I have lots of bits and pieces of canvas left over from my needlepoint obsession days. A piece of this made a nice firm frame.

needlepoint canvas

I cut 3″ squares of canvas, and 3½” calico squares as the backing for some little pieces of textile collage.

collage, upcycling, recycling

After stitching the pieces in place with just a few stitches, I put a piece of wadding between the calico and the canvas and stitched them all together.IMG_8217

The two pieces on the left have little pockets.

textile collages, slow stitching

I sewed blanket stitch round the edges and made a plain calico basetextile box

then oversewed the sides to the base before sewing up the sides.

Oh I did enjoy making this but it had taken me a whole day and I wanted to finish quickly. I cut a piece of canvas for the lid and thought, ‘that’ll do’.

textile box, collage, canvas lid

I added a piece of thicker wadding top and bottom and found a shell for the handle.

Ta Dah!textile box

I think it works

Now – what to put in it ….

 

36 responses to “Textile Tuesday: Box

  1. Pingback: Scrap Happy Box | Wild Daffodil

  2. Going Batty in Wales

    Several years ago I went to a ‘workshop’ to learn how to make a fabric covered box. I say ‘workshop’ because the tutor had simply bought a kit online and copied it. It was based on sheets of thick card and involved a lot of messy glueing and some hand stitching that was really awkward and tough so hard to do. Apart from choosing a fabric there was nothing creative about it at all! Needless to say I never went to another one of her courses! I have some plastic mesh left from making bags (used to give a firm base that wouldn’t sag if it got wet) which would be perfect for one like yours and I love the idea of pockets and decorations. Thank you so much for the inspiration!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That’s really sweet – but I am left wondering if you are satisfied with your lid…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This brought back memories making boxes years ago with bits and pieces from the garden and the garden shed!!!
    Your box is just fab.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Love the little box, very tactile. Here’s my textile photo…https://thecraftycreek.com/2020/03/03/textile-tuesday/

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Textile Tuesday | thecraftycreek

  7. The thing I like about both the boxes is how tactile and almost cuddly they are! Plus, of course, their scrappiness 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: textiles to the moon & beyond | Curls n Skirls

  9. Such a fun project! Here’s my link!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Love your box and the directions!
    My post is available here: https://wp.me/p2ynvT-2OW

    Liked by 1 person

  11. You have been busy. It’s really beautiful and imaginative. I am afraid my contribution to Textile Tuesday required no work on my part but here it is – https://rainbowjunkiecorner.wordpress.com/2020/03/03/textile-tuesday/

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Pingback: Textile Tuesday – Rainbow Junkie

  13. Wonderful! Would make such a lovely present for a special someone. I can picture little treasures tucked in the pockets that would appeal to the lucky recipient.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Love your take on this project, especially the pockets, may pinch that idea.
    Here’s my link- or how not to make a quilt.

    Textile Tuesday

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Pingback: Textile Tuesday | nanacathydotcom

  16. Remember making something similar in school. Lovely xx

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Special shells and beach finds of course! 😄 I did something similar with the kids and some very old plastic canvas once. It feels good just finding a use for the leftovers and odd bits!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Looks like you had great fun making this.

    Liked by 1 person

I love your comments, keep'em coming :-)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.