Modern

each other’s heart throb

hearts throbbing after leaping

over obstacles

~

My entry for our Photo Challenge this week: MODERN

It’s a bit of a cheat really as I didn’t take the photo – I was the jet-lagged Granny at home with the children so that my daughter and her husband could enter a cross-country Rocket Run. I knew it was going to be a big ask for me to have their three balls of energy just two days after I got back from my trip to the Caribbean, my energy was on the floor, but I teamed up with my son and his boys and together we had a good day – AND this picture makes it all so very worthwhile. I’m so glad they were happy for me to share it with you – it makes me smile every time I look at it.

The picture shows just what good friends they are, they went round the 8k course together helping each other over the obstacles and having fun. They have been married for 10 years – my marriage was falling apart after 10 years, to see my daughter so happy …. well, that’s all we want for our kids isn’t it.

(Oh, and it ticked off one of my daughter’s 17 for 2017 – go A!)

Why MODERN?

When I was in my 30s nobody I knew ran for pleasure and/or to keep fit – now all my children and their partners and lots of their friends seem to do quite a bit of running. Jobs are not so physically active it seems to be one of the modern ways to keep fit and meet socially.

Ok, a bit tenuous maybe, but any excuse to squeeze this photo into a blog post!

Including a stab at Ron’s Haiku Challenge prompts: LEAP and THROB

Have a go, it’s fun. Pop across to Ron’s and see all the other great entries, it is a great supportive Haiku community.

Please leave links to your MODERN photos in the comments so that I can include it in the Monthly Round- Up. Cathy and I always look forward to seeing your take on each subject.

Next week’s subject (posted from next Tuesday onwards) is BIRD

35 responses to “Modern

  1. Pingback: In a Vase on Monday on Scrap Happy Tuesday | Wild Daffodil

  2. Pingback: Dreamcatcher | Wild Daffodil

  3. A great haiku and story to match the image Sandra.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Photo Challenge Round-Up: April | Wild Daffodil

  5. How DO you do it? Tough words this week but you always manage. Great grandma!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Murtagh's Meadow

    I’ve posted a “modern” post inspired by this week’s challenge – https://murtaghsmeadow.wordpress.com/2017/05/05/turf-cutting/

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: Turf Cutting | Murtagh's Meadow

  8. So many positives ☺

    Liked by 1 person

  9. How lovely that your daughter and her husband are so happily married. Glad to hear you survived granny sitting their three children! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. What a lovely photo that is Daffy, they really do look so happy 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Murtagh's Meadow

    They certainly look happy!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. A very creative take, and a VERY happy picture! Works for me!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Laurie Graves

    Such a lovely picture! And so heartening to read about their marriage and friendship.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. It’s so wonderful that they share this fun–and that they have you to cheer them on!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Hope you’ve recovered from the granny bit. Great to hear about your daughter and son-in law. My marriage too was falling apart after 10 years so always good hear positive stories.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Good for them, and I think running for fun is definetly Modern, Our generation was too busy running after children. Full of admiration for the grandchildren sitting, we have been doing that this weekend, and I am exhauusted.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hope you have a quiet time for crafting to recharge those batteries Cathy. I certainly need long hours of crochet to get my energy back. So glad you think this fits in to the ‘Modern’ theme. 😉

      Like

I love your comments, keep'em coming :-)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.