The Tor

Glastonbury Tor

‘We will walk 500 miles’

Today Little Miss M and I reached 60.8 miles of our 500 mile goal.

We walked up Glastonbury Tor – can you see that pink speck nearly at the top? That is Little Miss M (6) racing ahead to get there first.

What a glorious day it was with magnificent views

Glastonbury

stretching far and wide……

looking back at the town of Glastonbury

Somerset

and from the top

from the Tor

so good to stand together when I finally got there!

DSC_0480

looking back at how far we had come

DSC_0482

We were with my daughter, Miss E and Master R. The children were touchingly concerned about the modern carvings, but enjoyed the “love heart” as it had not damaged the stone

heart

Having enjoyed the Spring sunshine, the breeze and the views it was time to go back down

Tor

DSC_0491

with many others enjoying the climb

some leaving tributes or prayers in the trees

DSC_0494

On the 85 minute journey home, Miss E (11) was a bit bored and invented Car Yoga to keep herself and the rest of us amused – with demonstrations of the Eyebrow Pose, the Upward Dog and the Squash-the-Person-Next-To-You Pose – Happy Days!

Click on any picture to see it full screen.

Joining Son of a Beach’s Which Way Challenge

 

39 responses to “The Tor

  1. Murtagh's Meadow

    Looks magnificent. Love the idea of car yoga!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. what a MARVELOUS project! you will have great time, wonderful memories and enviable figures 😉 afterwords.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow! What a beautiful and fun place to visit!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Such a long time since I last went up Glastonbury tor. Is there a path up and down now? I remember slithering down on my bottom part of the way down!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Very cool! Looks like a spectacular spot! Thanks a bunch for joining in. 😊😊

    Liked by 1 person

  6. What a view! Wowsah! Made my heart sing just looking at the pictures.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Both you and your granddaughter are going to *cherish* memories of these walks! She sounds like quite the gal!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Absolutely fantastic photos. What a great idea to walk 500 miles with your grandchildren. They will remember these adventures with huge fondness as adults I am sure but with the added bonus of these photos to help fully remind them.
    Fiona

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! It was Little Miss M’s request to me that we walk 500 miles together after hearing the Proclaimers’ song – She was 4 at the time, with no real idea of how far that would be or how long it might take us, but who could resist such a sweet request!
      I’m so glad to be able to keep a record of our walks in this way – it is a fun way to include others in our adventures. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Perfect weather for a walk and for brilliant views once you got there.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I reckon car yoga could catch on especially on long car journeys. What wonderful views you had.

    Liked by 2 people

  11. Beautiful! And I love to read your stories of adventures with grandchildren ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  12. How wonderful to have such lovely company cheering you along the way! 🥰

    Liked by 2 people

  13. Gorgeous countryside! Wow, nearly 61 miles, you guys will knock that off faster, as she grows!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I enlarged the pictures and I’m in Heaven. I feel King Arthur rising up in me! LOL!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. You could probably just see my brother’s house from there… He lives in Croscombe, just outside Wells, and can see the Tor from his living room window. Much nicer weather than the last lot of photos he sent me, where there 6 inches of snow on top of the gate posts.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Your pictures are stunning! What a beautiful backdrop that you live in. I would love to see it myself one day!!

    Liked by 2 people

I love your comments, keep'em coming :-)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.