Crochet Mandala for Outside

crochet mandala

Just a little bit obsessed with making mandalas at the moment and I am thinking about hanging this one outside on the wall of my garage to see how it is affected by the weather before making more.

I would really love to paint the outside of my house in bright zany colours, like Katwise, but my neighbours would ……. well you can imagine! So the next best thing might be to cover my house in crocheted mandalas

This one is in Stylecraft Special DK made with a 4.5mm hook and attached to a 70cm coated metal ring which I got from Dannells. I’m on the look out for larger hoops but so far have not found any in the UK. I might have to use some Hoola Hoops.

It is sewn onto the hoop with the same yarnback of crochet attached to a metal hoop

This pattern and yarn combination would stretch to a 1m hoop I think, if the edges did not cover the frame.

The pattern, Tuuli, is a free pattern by Zoya Matyushenko and I think it is my favourite of her designs. I have made it before in cotton thread, for Little Miss M, and one for myself.

I am sure to make it again – next time in white.

Please let me know if you know where I can get large hoops, maybe wooden, preferably white or a natural wood colour.

39 responses to “Crochet Mandala for Outside

  1. Pingback: World Yarn Bombing Day 2020 | Wild Daffodil

  2. You are not going to let a neighbour’s disapproval stop you from painting your house are you…? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. well I, for one, will be following your yarn bombing with great interest! I clicked on the link to the rainbow house and oh my!!!! it looks so cheerful and I love what they’ve done to the Inside too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know – it is brilliant isn’t it. I LOVE it! Not sure I could live with the inside even though I love the look, I need lots of white and light around me – but I could definitely live with the outside.

      Like

  4. I can’t wait to hear a) how this weathers, b) how the neighbors take it,if they will even comment, and c) how big the next is! From a fellow blot on the neighborhood. This would be my neighbors….😒

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Murtagh's Meadow

    Beautiful as always

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I hope it does well outside. No different than a flag, really, unless the yarn sags when it gets wet. Time will tell.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I think it’s pretty and your neighbours could be fools for not admiring such prettiness on the outside of your property in future! Just my opinion ….. I wonder how the yarn will last outdoors though. It could fade then it might not look quite as good. Basing this on a fabric bunting pendant I made myself – after just three weeks it looked a little tired.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Beautiful work. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  9. A yarn bombed house, wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. This is so pretty. It would look great on any wall.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you!
      Thanks so much for taking the time to search.
      I have looked at that site before – it is actually a German company and things come from Germany. I did try to order from them, but the form I tried to fill in did not accept my address for some reason so I let it go. I might try emailing them if I can’t find any UK company that stocks the large hoops.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. I think you were lucky to find 70cm ones – I haven’t seen anything larger. You might have to go down the hula hoop route. If it’s for outside, have you thought about using something other than yarn for crocheting the mandala?

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Great idea! I think if you cover your house in colourful mandalas the neighbours may come and ask you to paint your house in just two or three colours and you can then push for your own choice of four colours. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

I love your comments, keep'em coming :-)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.