Fields of Blue and Yellow

fields of blue and yellow

I took a dear friend to a hospital appointment today – round trip 166 miles. The furthest I have driven, prior to that, since the beginning of March, was 10 miles. It was wonderful to spend time with my friend and to get out and about, seeing the world with fresh eyes.

If you click on the photo you can see it full screen – the spire of the magnificent Salisbury Cathedral is on the left hand side. I was there in 2016 with Miss E.

Now 14 days of keeping as much to myself as possible and being on the alert for symptoms. I’m pretty sure all will be well, but we live in uncertain times.

How beautiful the countryside looked after the recent good dose of rain, and a field of linseed is always a joy to behold

Be safe, be happy, be well.

 

45 responses to “Fields of Blue and Yellow

  1. The first week we moved here I drove into Blandford and there was blue linseed on one side of the road and oil seed rape on the other. An amazing sight I’ve never seen since! I didn’t notice if they had the white opium poppies over your way this year. The photographers usually swamp FB with them!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Getting out felt great, and what beautiful countryside to enjoy along with a visit with your friend. A lovely act of kindness by you already repaid with the beauty!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love the swishing quiet noise of your clip – the flowers gently moving – it felt like life was all right…
    Hope your friend had a successful outcome at her medical appointment and that you survived driving there and back. The vehicle probably needed a good work out and it took you by these wonderful fields of nature…

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know what you mean about the feeling that ‘life is all right’ – touching in with nature feels especially important right now.
      Thank you for your good wishes, it was a successful visit. 🙂

      Like

  4. Lovely film! Enjoyed it yesterday several times when you posted on IG. And thank you also for the link above, which I followed, read, and then went on to see all the magazines available online. Wow! Went through this issue and hope to get back to others soon. You’re such a love to have spent the day with your friend, no doubt lending some moral support for her appointment.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. As long as you had the car windows open you should have been ok. I hope your friend had good news, she is lucky to have you. Stay safex . I recll the Duke of Marlbough grew a field of flax at Blenheim Palace when we lived nearby- tis a sight to be seen.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. What a lovely act of kindness, driving your friend to her appointment, especially after so long with only limited use of your car. And how lovely to see the fields of flax – I was going to ask if flax was often grown round there, but it sounds as if linen making is a Dorset tradition

    Liked by 1 person

  7. How lovely to see a field of flax, such a rare sight these days. Nowadays it’s such a jump for people to connect linseed to linen; the same plant that makes such a beautiful fibre is also responsible for the oil we put on furniture or mix with oil paints, and the seeds go into our cereals and LSA mixes. And all blessed by that beautiful blue flower.
    I hope you stay well after your act of generosity, and that your friend benefits from the outing and conversation as much as the medical visit.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Kate, your comment has ‘joined the dots’ for me. My Great Grandmother, Caroline Canterbury, was a linen sail cloth weaver, making sail cloth for tall ships, back in 1800s. Both her husbands were flax dressers. They lived in West Dorset, and I now realise that they must have lived surrounded by fields of blue in June/July each year, albeit much smaller fields than the modern one in the pictures above.
      It feels great to make that connection – thank you.

      Like

  8. Murtagh's Meadow

    A wonderful scene. Stay safe and well

    Liked by 1 person

  9. A lovely view of the countryside. So kind to be there to help your friend and your reward was to see the fields and have a good natter!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, the rewards were wonderful. Somtimes, you don’t quite realise how much you were missing, until you are able to enjoy those simple pleasures again. I really value that precious time with my friend. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  10. What a good friend you are. I expect you were able to have a good old catch up chat in the car on the journey.
    In an extremely tenuous link to your post – i.e. the mention of Salisbury – I watched the BBC drama on catch up the other day about the Salisbury poisoning – did you see it?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Gosh how I miss those times of easy conversation with a good mate. We have seen each other through thick and thin, and I was glad to be able to do it..
      Hmmm – well – the Salisbury Poisonings. I did watch the first episode, but I am a bit of a wuss, and that story is so tragic, and makes me so shocked and horrified at the behaviour of those Russians, that I did not want to watch any more for fear I might explode. Did you think it was good?

      Like

  11. At the end of the day you do what is best for you. The video was beautiful. Thank you for some beauty today.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Beautiful blue flowers. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. That was quite a drive! Lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. A lovely act of generosity. Stay well!

    Liked by 1 person

I love your comments, keep'em coming :-)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.