Yarn Along gifts

DSC_0637

Just for fun joining in with Cee’s Flower of the Day – bit cheeky!

I am often trying out ideas for crochet or knitting patterns and do small samples which of course I keep – being a super-hoarder. My grandchildren sometimes get out the box and make collages or birthday cards with them or use them for other craft projects. It is fun to see what they come up with.

Our tour leader on my up-coming trip said she normally gives 4 or 5 five inch squares of fabric as little gifts to our Japanese hosts. So with that as a guideline I felt that I would like to give something more personal to me and made up these 12 little gifts from my stash of samples.DSC_0635

Following the textile theme I wrapped them and a handmade business card, first in tissue paper held with Washi tape and then in a piece of fabric.

DSC_0641

Washi tape is amazing stuff, so decorative for all sorts of projects. I get mine mail order from PapermashDSC_0640

DSC_0643

I loved wrapping up these little gifts – goodness knows what they will do with them – but I hope my pleasure in making and wrapping them will be as much a part of the gift as the item itself.DSC_0636DSC_0645

 

The little fabric parcels are tied round with a narrow pink ribbonDSC_0648

and I have put them in a plastic box to keep them safe on the journeyDSC_0649

Joining in also with Ginny’s Yarn Along, where you can see over 100 other yarny projects and book reviews. My book this week:DSC_0002

I bought this book in the 80s when I went to see a Japanese exhibition at the Victoria and Albert Museum, London.

 

 

10 responses to “Yarn Along gifts

  1. I adore your flowers. So creative and fun. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Very thoughtful, they’re beautiful and unique. I bet they will love them!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a lovely idea and you went to so much trouble!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You are so thoughtful Daffy, and have gone that extra mile to make the gift even more special. They will be delighted with these 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I like making flowers and put a brooch back on them, which can be pined to knitted or crochet hats. Lovely gifts for your trip and very pretty.

    Liked by 1 person

I love your comments, keep'em coming :-)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.