Movement

68

俳句

black and white

bullet train speeding

past Fuji

短歌

colour missed along the way

rushing through another day

~

The photo above is my attempt at taking a photo of the bullet train as it came into the station and below……

…. Surprisingly thrilling – this is my first sighting of Mount Fuji, photo taken from the train.

69

Joining in with Bluedaisyz Weekly Photo Challenge, prompt word: MOVEMENT

and

(Sometimes, just sometimes these challenges go together like peaches and cream!)

Ronovan’s Weekly Haiku Challenge, prompt words: BLACK and WHITE

A gorgeous Haiku to enjoy at the Daily Echo.

I’m going with the the 3.5.3 format again this week, in combining the challenges but have added two 7 syllable lines to create a Tanka – or is it? ooooooh, now what am I doing, playing around with the ‘rules’, I can see our Japanese guide looking sideways at me with a bemused smile at this uneducated Westerner.

And here another Tanka (5,7,5,7,7 this time)

white light heats the day

bright rays of inspiration

black night integrates

as winter hibernation

holds seeds of the new forming

~

And pop on over to ‘Me and the Boss’ for a Troiku and an explanation of how it works. A new one to me and this got my haiku head spinning – I must try this one out…… here goes

white light heats the day

bright rays of inspiration

black night integrates

*

white light heats the day

bringing colours out to play

made brighter by black

*

black shadows hold

bright rays of inspiration

white highlights sparkle

*

a day of colour

comes to a glorious end

black night integrates

*

What do you think? Gosh I had fun with that one!

Next week’s Photo Challenge prompt word is CONTRAST. This will be the 49th week, only 3 more weeks after that – gosh, I’m amazed that I have been able to rise to this challenge each week. I did mix up the weeks once and had to swap them round but I have actually posted a photo each week – it’s been fun – thank you to Jamie for coming up with such a brilliant list of subjects.

31 responses to “Movement

  1. Well done to you Daffy! I don’t know how you manage it, but you always write wonderful Haiku and Tanka, 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This one!

    black shadows hold
    bright rays of inspiration
    white highlights sparkle

    I liked the most.. 🙂 Such a nice read.. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow! Does your heart race and jump when you realize you have a perfect picture for the challenge?! I am going to be lost without new words when it comes to doing the haiku. It adds so much pleasure combining the two and my additional challenge to make it relevant to my blog, well, it’s just what I’ve grown used to and love it so much!!

    Have you made a list just in case you don’t hear back from Jamie? I thought all your offers were very considerate and wonder did you get a response from her? There is always the WordPress photo word of the week which I was about to join in on when she posted hers. It would be easier than taking on the workload of moderating it yourself, but not as intimate and I bet there would be many in our haiku family who would support it. Well, if you do, I’m in!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It is a thrill certainly when the picture and words seem to go together so perfectly. And for me one seems to help the other – thank you so much for bringing both the photo challenge and the Haiku challenge to my attention and leading the way by doing them together. At first I was not sure about combining them but now it would feel like something was missing if I did not combine them.
      I have not heard back from Jamie. Cathy of nanacathydotcom has had a similar idea for us to co-create a list – thrilled to hear you are IN!!! I will email you. I can’t quite believe I have managed every week, with only a few more to go. It has become such an enjoyable part of my week. I like the intimacy of the way it worked, let’s do it! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: RonovanWrites 73rd #Weekly #Haiku #Poetry Challenge LINKS | ronovanwrites

  5. You always do such a great job of combining the different challenges. I love the photos. I never seen a train like that, it looks futuristic. The Haiku, Tanka, and Troiko are all beautiful. Well done! 😀 xx

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Wonderful Bullet Train Haiku.And great images. Standing on a platform when an express Shinkansen goes through, as in your image is a very scary experience.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much Denis – I’m having fun with the 3,5,3. Luckily the train in the picture stopped for us to get on board – I imagine it must be extremely scary to stand on the platform as one goes past!!! They certainly go like the wind!

      Like

      • Do you think the 3/5/3 flows more easily once you have tried a few? The express Shinkansen fly through on the middle rails however its very close to the platform and everything shakes and rumbles for a few seconds then it is disappearing up the line.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Once I tried the 3/5/3 that is what seemed to naturally happen when I was writing the next one – so yes! I think it does flow more easily. And it feels more haiku-y if you know what I mean.
          Not sure if I will be able to get the opposite angles/meanings into 11 syllables, and then there is the reference to a season – what does your tutor say of that? Our Japanese guide said it was not a Haiku if it did not refer to a season.
          I wish I’d seen that flying Shinkansen! Next time!

          Like

          • With modern haiku the way it is now written both in Japan and elsewhere the bottom line seems to be don’t worry about the seasonal reference, however one could try to allude to a season if possible. Again a seasonal reference should have to be connecting to where the haiku is written and outside Japan there are not common lists to refer to.

            Liked by 1 person

  7. Great photograph for the subject!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: Photo Challenge- Movement | nanacathydotcom

  9. Gosh, that was a fast train!

    Liked by 1 person

I love your comments, keep'em coming :-)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.