Fold

Mandala Centres

shell shapes coastal hues

hookery yarning along

peaceful mandalas

~

Joining in with Ronovan’s Haiku Challenge, prompts: SHELL and COAST

The mandalas are getting rather big to photograph, so this week’s prompt for our One-a-Week Photo Challenge gave me an idea.

two MMs

The one on the left is in Stylecraft Special DK acrylic yarn using a 4mm hook, in colours chosen by Little Miss M (aged 5).

The one on the right in in Scheepjes Stonewashed 4ply, cotton and acrylic, using a 3.5mm hook. Colours chosen by me with the twins (aged 4) in mind.

The Spiro Star in the top photo and the square, ‘Fantastic’, designed by Julie Yeager,  are in Stylecraft Special DK, using a 5mm hook and in colours chosen by Master R (aged 7).

The Mandala pattern, called Mandala Madness is a free pattern and comes from the amazing designer Helen Shrimpton. You can find it on her website or on Ravelry. I used another of her patterns: Spiro Star at the centre of my mandalas. With Helen’s permission I created a photo tutorial of how I joined the two together and Helen has incuded a link to it on her site.

Mandala Madness is a pattern for a huge mandala, I am trying to adapt it to be suitable for a bedspread for a single bed. It makes my brain ache, but I know it will be worth it in the end.

Cathy has a very different ‘fold’ for our delight – pop over and have a look.

Leave a link to your fold photo in the comments and I will include it in the monthly round-up. It is always fun to see the variety that we find for each subject.

15 responses to “Fold

  1. Pingback: Photo Challenge Round Up: August | Wild Daffodil

  2. Fascinating work Sandra, I have not seen a yarn Mandala before. I love the way you combined the haiku in with the images.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Denis, I’ve been making mandalas for years, but only just found these crochet mandala patterns – I’m loving trying them out in different colours. It was a struggle to get the haiku go together with the photo this week, so I’m glad you like it.

      Like

  3. Putting them side by side makes an outstanding photo!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Murtagh's Meadow

    These are amazing and so colourful:)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The children all have a good eye for colour. I love your fold.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love these, Daffy, both of them gorgeous with their colours 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

I love your comments, keep'em coming :-)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.