Scrap Happy: Flask Cosies

This could have been a ‘Silly Saturday’ post!

As part of my birthday celebrations (in November), I treated myself and a couple of friends to a day in a hut on the island at Sculpture by the Lakes.

We took a picnic. I took a couple of flasks for hot drinks. To keep them warmer for longer I used my nifty Flask Cosies.

They are made from the sleeves of an old (charity shop) jumper that I felted by mistake in the washing machine. I was chopping the jumper up to see how I could use the slightly felted knitted fabric and once the sleeves were cut off it was obvious to me what to use them for!

The Hut was very cosy, with a wood burner and lovely bright cushions,I also took a couple of my Scrap Happy blankets. To wrap round our knees if necessary. We had a wonderful time, with a wander round the sculpture park and nice gentle chat and a bit of crochet.

I would love to do it again in another season.

Joining Kate for Scrap Happy Day

38 responses to “Scrap Happy: Flask Cosies

  1. What a lovely location for a get together of friends, whatever the occasion (but how nice to gather friends together as a birthday treat for yourself!) – and how reasonable the rental prices are! What a wonderful day it must have been too 😊 I periodically pick up knitwear from charity shops to deliberately felt or repurpose, but haven’t yet produced anything from my haul. I am chuffed, though, that I turned one of my own jumpers into a cardigan, cutting up the front and knitting a band for it – but within 1 or two wearings as a cardigan one of the elbows has worn through and is sadly now awaiting repair of some sort…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Clever you with your cardigan.
      And now the opportunity for some visible mending – I expect you have seen the masses of examples on You Tube and Pinterest. There is even a weekend course at West Dean College this February on it.

      Like

      • At first I read that as ‘invisible’ mending – which life is defintely too short for! I have knitted a patch for it now but will investigate some ‘visible’ alternatives before the other elbow goes! 😂

        Like

  2. Belated Happy Birthday! The felt sleeve cosies complement the cushions haha.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, what an absolutely idyllic day! Wishing you a belated Happy Birthday!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. And the mini jumpers for your flask has given me an idea 🤩

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What a lovely place to visit 🥰

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Scrap Happy at its best!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. love the flask cozies – now that’s going to be useful idea – for many other scrap days – in “what else needs a cozy” 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Looks like you had a very happy birthday. So sad you felted the sweater – it happens to all of at some time but it made very colourful flask cosies. Looks like a delightful place for a celebration.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Love Love Love the upcycle cosies! A scrap happy accident! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. What a beautiful place. I can just imagine crocheting or knitting to my heart’s content here.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Drat about the jumper – but what an excellent save!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Spring would be a wonderful season there… what scrappy eye candy would you bring in spring, I wonder?

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Great idea and what a beautiful place. A special place for a special birthday.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Going Batty in Wales

    That was a very creative Birthday celebration and a clever use of a spoiled jumper (we all do that – felt a woolly by accident!)

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Looks a lovely place to spend your birthday and what a clever idea to make use of the felted jumper sleeves.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. I love the flask cosies, they are a great idea.
    I looks like you had a wonderful time.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. What a wonderful place in which to celebrate your birthday. What a shame about that wonderful jumper but so clever to use the sleeves as flask cosies.

    Liked by 1 person

I love your comments, keep'em coming :-)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.