Crochet Mandala

crochet cotton mandala

I’m on Part 17 of Mandala Madness by Helen Shrimpton.

The end is in sight.

I started this project back at the beginning of August and it has gradually taken over my every waking hour – very little else gets done. I hate to have to leave it, I wake early in the morning to work on it and I’ve enjoyed seeing it grow and develop. It is the first project I have done for myself for ages and I love it.

Huge gratitude goes to Helen for the amazing pattern and to Esther of It’s all in a Nutshell for her wonderful video tutorials.

I have made a few alterations along the way:

  1. Spiro Star at the centre (tutorial here)
  2. Baby pineapples in Part 10, instead of bobbles in diamonds
  3. Plain single crochet instead of extended single crochet in Part 12.
  4. Missing out the back posts in Round 86 to create a slightly more broderie anglaise effect.
  5. And I plan to do a lacy edging, yet to be decided – any ideas or suggestions would be very welcome.

But other than that it is Helen’s pattern.

It is made with Scheepjes Bonbon cotton yarn and a 2mm hook.

The finished piece will measure about 1m across when finished.

I finished the 11th ball of the Chrystaline (main colour) just before the end of Round 102. So far I’m still on the first balls of Lime Juice, Candlelight, Snow White and Tropic.

If you would like to see some other yarny beauties and have a good old natter, pop across to Nanacathy.

48 responses to “Crochet Mandala

  1. This is so intricate and beautiful, you’ve done a lovely job!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Gorgeous work. I can only dream of having the level of patience and staying power to complete something like this x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. I’m rather surprised myself, but nowadays I have more time to be creative and to follow excellent video tutorials. Your time will come! 😉

      Like

      • I’ve always got distracted by something else I want to make that I tend to make quicker to complete projects now, so that I actually do complete everything! My head is constantly whirring with new ideas too, the curse of being creative I guess, and a very busy life with 3 young boys probably doesn’t really help haha. Once the boys are bigger I will make a giant mandala rug for our lounge 💜

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow, this is stunning! Great work. 💜💕

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It’s looking wonderful, Sandra

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Fascinating and definitely a work of art.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. That is beautiful. 🙂 I know the feeling when you get stuck into a crocheting project. Working with such a fine yarn makes it more intensive too. Have fun finishing it off!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. It’ is simply glorious. I wonder what it would look like with some seed bead added? Feel free to go off me with that suggestion!

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’ve done it again Cathy – you are getting to know me very well!! Last night, I couldn’t sleep as I was imagining it sewn onto the turquoise painted canvas. As i thought about it, the idea of adding beads came into my head. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts, I really love and appreciate your ideas. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Utterly gorgeous – and getting so big now!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I’m sure it will give you many years of pleasure just looking at it – beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Murtagh's Meadow

    Wow. It’s amazing how addictive something as creative as this can become. It’s a long time since i’ve had that feeling. Good for you!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Wow, that’s absolutely beautiful Sandra. We are just starting up the crochet group you helped me seed, ready for the dark evenings. Thankyou for your inspiration. love elizabethxxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Elizabeth, so lovely to hear from you. I am thrilled to know you will be crocheting together again, I’m with you all in spirit. Maybe I will squeeze in a visit before crochet season ends. 😉
      I long to be in your wonderful treehouse again one day. I’m just going to add the link here for anyone who might be interested:
      https://www.airbnb.co.uk/rooms/2847200

      Like

  12. I hope to see it in the flesh one day…

    Liked by 1 person

  13. It is still getting more and more beautiful, Daffy as it grows. The different patterns and colours really make it stand out. It is outstanding! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Love the little bit of light yellow, you are doing a magnificent job with this!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Amazing, and I can see how they take over your life.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. That is a work of art 👍

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Exquisite!

    Liked by 1 person

I love your comments, keep'em coming :-)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.