Karoo Vintage Mystery Crochet Along

The Woodland Colours would not leave me alone – I really should NOT have started another project, I have so many WIPs knock-knock-knocking on my conscience but when there is a creative itch that strong – there is nothing for it but to give in!

Karoo Vintage Crochet Along by Jen Tyler

Along came Jen Tyler with the lure of her Karoo Vintage Mystery Crochet Along – I can’t seem to resist a CAL and I love a mystery. I love the sense of community that builds up around crochet-alongs. So, with my sensible head telling me not to, I started the Karoo Vintage Mystery Along back in July.

Crocheting along with Jen is like going on a crochet Safari, one never knows what is around the corner – it is a rocky road and not for the faint-hearted, be prepared for a challenge! She does not have her patterns tested before publishing them and so there is the odd mistake. She gets her puffs and popcorns mixed up on the video so one has to remain alert and cross-check with the written pattern. But her patterns are still worth the effort.

You can see more photos of the stages of this one on my Ravelry Page,

If I made this pattern again (I will NEVER make this pattern again!) I would make changes to simplify it and add to the stitch count in certain rounds which pull the work too tight – that middle dark brown section for instance.

But! it is done and it is an amazing piece. The details are extraordinary. I learnt a lot.Karoo Vintage Mal – it is finished apart from about a month’s worth of ends to sew in! Yikes!

It is worked in Stylecraft Special DK and a 4.5mm hook and it measures 1.5m square.

The colours I used are as follows: Gold, Lime, Claret, Burgundy, Copper, Tomato, Bottle, Pistachio, Mustard, Khaki, Spice, Walnut, Dark Brown, Meadow, Cypress.

I did enjoy making it, but I have to admit it was an effort to finish it: mainly because I have no specific use for it and it does not go with any of the colours in my house. But I am sure that by the time all those dratted ends are sewn in it will have found a home and a purpose.

Remind me, I must not be tempted by another Crochet Along until I have finished the 8 blankets for my 8 grandchildren ……. oh wait – I’m doing one now! with Attic24.

What can I say, I am a hopeless case.

22 responses to “Karoo Vintage Mystery Crochet Along

  1. Pingback: 8 Blankets for 8 Grandchildren | Wild Daffodil

  2. Wow, beautiful work, Sandra, it reminds me of a Tibetan mandala. I think you could frame it, as it shows off just how skilled you are with all those intricate stitches. Any of those grandkids would be lucky to get such a piece. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The texture on this is phenomenal! As someone whose skill in this area is limited to double crochet stitch, I’m really impressed!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow, that really does make me think of woodlands! Now you must stop finding CALs and stick to your real homework for the Grands!! :0)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. It sounds like you have to be quite dedicated to follow this one. And it really is a work of art! Maybe you could sell it off to raise funds for the next complex CAL project – which I’m pretty sure you will sign up for, banned or not! 😀 But maybe get some of those eight blankets for grandies off the hook first…..

    Liked by 1 person

    • HaHa!!! you know me too well!
      I have made 6 of the 8 blankets so far, and am in the middle of the 7th, so the ban should not last too long!
      The Amanzi I’m making is for my 8 year old granddaughter – but I’m making two versions as she is having difficulty deciding on colours.
      I would love this Karoo to go to a family member really, as it feels like an heirloom piece – I do have 5 nieces and nephews, so maybe one of them will like it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m absolutely sure someone will snap it up – yu are right it is an heirloom piece! My Amanzi is waiting until a) I’ve finished the two projects underway and b) my colour choices are made – this could take a while…….

        Liked by 1 person

  6. A stunning work of art- well done you. NO MORE CALS!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I have never seen such detail. Positively beautiful and the colors too

    Liked by 1 person

  8. It is an amazing piece. And challenges, as long as they don’t drive you crazy, bring zest to life.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Lisa at Greenbow

    I am always amazed at all the intricate crocheting you do. This one is no exception. I love the colors.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Good luck with all your projects. I could never cope with having that many it would make me too anxious. The blanket is amazing. When I create a pattern I tend to make it several times before I am sure it works. Imagine if Jen Taylor did that with her blanket!

    Like

    • Thank you Jane for your encouragement.
      If Jen Tyler did all that testing I suppose her patterns would just never get printed, she really is an extraordinarily inventive designer. Her patterns are really cheap and so the first few ones who take them up become her testers and there are plenty of devotees to help us all out if we get stuck. Ravelry is awash with the most wonderful intepretations of her designs – the colour combinations are just amazing!

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Wow! Well done you, it looks amazing.
    I must say I wouldn’t have been tempted by this one – I like a bit of a challenge but this looks far too complicated for me. I still have a Jane Crow blanket kit started but nowhere near finished – again, too complicated and I’m not even sure what I’d do with it if I managed to get it done. Still, plenty of other uses for all the Stylecraft colours that came with the kit.
    So, eight blankets for the grandkids eh? Time to keep your eyes on the hook and off the computer screen I’d say.😉

    Liked by 1 person

I love your comments, keep'em coming :-)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.