Karoo Vintage Mystery Along

Jen Tyler of Hooks ‘n’ Tails is another fabulously creative crochet designer.

Her style takes a bit of getting used to

Jen Tyler desing

but so worth it if you can cast pre-conceived ideas to the wind and go with her!

This pattern is a Mystery even to Jen herself, she is making it up as she goes along and each week gives us another few rows to work on. The pattern starts with a flower and then We’re OFF! on a voyage of discovery.

Karoo Vintage MAL, Jen Tyler

Texture, overlay and all sorts of avant garde instructions follow.

Karoo Vintage MAL by Jen Tyler

If it were not for the videos, I don’t think I would ever be able to follow the patterns. They are clear and well written but the stitches and methods of achieving them are unconventional, often taking a bit of working out and it makes my head spin.

Karoo Vintage Mystery Along

Even the videos are not easy to follow.

They are not tutorial videos, but more Jen racing along with her crochet hook and me scampering behind trying hard to keep up! Sometimes I re-play the video 4 or five times to work things out.

I have just arrived at the end of Part 3 and it measures 67cm (26″)  square.

end of part three

This project is like going on a Crochet Safari – you have to keep your wits about you and you never know what exciting new experience is round the next corner.

It is fun! And I have to concentrate so hard that all other worries melt away for hours on end – so therefore it also gets to be relaxing.

If you want a crochet adventure, this is definitely the right pattern for you!

There are plenty of other brave explorers who have picked up the challenge and you can see all their amazing work on Instagram, Facebook and Ravelry.

Details:

Karoo Vintage Mystery along by Jen Tyler

4.5mm hook and Stylecraft Special DK in woodland colours.

woodland colours

I loved working with Woodland colours for my Woodland Ripple so much, I was just waiting for another project in which I could use them again.

Joining in with Ginny’s monthly Yarn Along.

I rarely read books nowadays but I do listen to stories and dramas on the Radio whilst I crochet and The Little Ottleys has been a delight to listen to whilst going on safari in the Karoo.

 

36 responses to “Karoo Vintage Mystery Along

  1. Roberta Santini

    Hi, I discovered this amazing project yesterday, and this morning I got the pdf. Can’t wait to start. I need a little help from you: I wonder if you can tell me the order of the colours used to make the blanket.
    Thanks a lot. Happy new year to you all.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Yarn Along: Land, Sea and Sky | Wild Daffodil

  3. Laurie Graves

    That really is a crochet safari! Can’t wait to see it finished.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You do like this amazing intricate patterns don’t you? I liked it best after part three. I think I would have to give up watching TV to attempt anything like that!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I love the way the intricacy takes me away from swirling thoughts and daily concerns. It is an escape.
      Yes, I don’t watch much TV whilst I’m working on this one. I have other simpler projects for late night TV watching.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Wow, it’s amazing, absolutely lovely, and I can see what you mean about needing to concentrate. But how satisfying to produce something so complicated. As you say, it will be deliciously warm for the winter. CJ xx

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lisa at Greenbow

    This is so ornate. So many different patterns coming together to make an exquisite blanket. You can see the patterns individually with the different colors of yarn making them stand out. Can’t wait to see it finished.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It certainly is an adventure Lisa. I am amazed at how anyone can create such a pattern. Jen says she dreams crochet stitches – isn’t creativity amazing! It is fun to know you will be watching to see how this blanket progresses.

      Like

  7. You are so out of my league, I agree with Cathy, this looks terrifyingly gorgeous!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I could not do it without the videos and the support of the Facebook group Kathy. I’m a bit like a moth drawn to the flame with these highly complex crochet challenges – I just have to see if I can do it.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I am in awe! I could stare at this all day, loving its intricacies. My poor brain must be saved for work- LOL! And my children’s special needs advocating. I can’t even contemplate attempting this. But I am sure thankful you are and Jen has so I can enjoy it! I have never seen crochet at this level! And I LOVE it! Beautiful!

    Like

    • Thank you Eliz for your lovely comment – trouble is I too could stare at it all day! I’m retired but there really are other things I ought to be doing sometimes!!! It sounds like you have a busy and rewarding life.
      I’m so glad to know you will enjoy seeing this one grow.

      Like

  9. I am so glad my list of yarn ‘to-do’s’ is too long for me to add anything else onto. But that looks very fabulous. And having to work and concentrate is sooooo good for our brains. You’ll be as sharp as a tack until you reach at least 120!! How many parts are there to it? Or is that part of the mystery. I have to say I love how the architecture of it is so striking. And how as it grows the colours change the structure too. Don’t we learn a lot about colours relate to each other through these structured patterns. I sometimes feel like a light has just been clicked on in my tiny brain and I go “Oooooooh, aha!’ in a knowing kind of way.

    Like

    • ‘Architecture’! Yes, a perfect description of this pattern.
      We don’t know how many parts there are, how big it will be or how much yarn will be used – I’m quite happy with the mystery of it but it doesn’t suit everyone. Jen was clear about that from the start and has advised people to wait til it is finished if they want to know all the usual details. I did wait til the Mystery Along was a few weeks in before I started it as I wanted to see what others made of the pattern and to get a sense of whether the woodland colour paltette would fit. Do go and have a look at all the other ways in which crocheters have used colour to create amazingly different effects.
      I so agree with you about how colour changes things and that is part of the fun for me – to see what effect I can create using darks and lights, blended or contrasting colours. Those light-bulb moments are the prze aren’t they Pauline! I often just sit looking at projects I’m working on and fall in love with them and don’t want to leave them to go to sleep!
      I really hope you are right about this sort of thing helping to keep the little brain cells firing – my Mum has dementia, and they do say that a sign of the onset is not being able to learn new things – so I keep on learning!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, don’t get stuck in a rut, keep learning and changing things up and challenging ourselves. And be happy. It makes us so much healthier 🙂 I shall go and look at the other examples – I really love what is happening with yours.

        Liked by 1 person

        • One of the delicious joys of blogging is getting meet lots of glorious crafty creative women – it feels so good to know we are all challenging ourselves in happy ways and sharing our adventures with one another.

          Like

  10. Murtagh's Meadow

    I love your description of a crochet safari!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Oh, my, this is waaay too exotic for my poor skills… but I love the colours and that you’re keeping up with it all. It’s going to be incredible – hope you keep at it & keep showing us!!! xx

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Looks fun! What’s the video? I’ll love to try this out

    Liked by 1 person

  13. It looks so dense and architectural–good for you for figuring out how to figure it out!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. You’ve done a great job… This looks amazing! I look forward to seeing how it progresses 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  15. OMG it looks terrifying. But lovely.

    Liked by 2 people

I love your comments, keep'em coming :-)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.